Steemit use in Africa

in #steemit8 years ago

I will start by introducing myself. I come from a small country in Africa with a population of just 15 million. To give you a better hint, this country will have its elections held this year. I am really interested in crypto currencies and the new wave of the internet of things. I have seen the potential that such technological advancements can have on the economies of most African countries, specifically, the one I come from.

In my country, the financial system is all but what I would term usury. Ever heard of a personal loan from a bank with a 50% interest cost per annum! That is what capital costs in most African countries. One thing that technology changes is making the world more connected and being able to access funds from outside ones financial system bounded by invisible borders. Money becomes something global with crypto currencies such as Bitcoins. There are many organisations out there willing to offer financing at fair rates.

Cost of capital in Africa as much as 50% APR

One thing I have come to realise is that besides South Africa, there is virtually zero understanding of what cryto currencies are in other African countries. I guess it could have something to do with the access to cheap and affordable internet and personal computers. I seem to think that very few Africans use Steemit too. I would have loved a more objective claim but I suppose the makers of this platform will day display those statistics. I would like to do my part to support this platform. I find it very interesting and I'm begging to wonder why anybody would even want to use social media platforms such as Facebook once Steemit evolves which is the natural thing that could happen. It does feel like social media and unbiased news.

I' thinking perhaps putting up advertisements in local news outlets, billboards, television programs, paid ads etc.

Sort:  

wellcome

Crypto didn't make it to "mom'n'dad" yet, even in the west. its still a geeky, techie thing that we get to play with but our friends don't get.

You might be right there. I can only relate to one of my friends and he's a techie too. It like explaining the force to most ladies :-)

South African here, think there is massive potential for crypto in Africa. Quite surprised how big it is here in the south already. Think with the (slow but steady) spread of free wifi in Africa, it is inevitable that crypto is in it to win it here. Thats why Im loving steemit so much. It is such an absurdly brilliant way to "market" (forgive the wording) crypto.

South tends to be miles ahead of most African countries as concerns technology. I was impressed with the news item on a South African born crypto currency, Pipcoin. Not sure if the project is still alive though.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.3 and reading ease of 59%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45