Steemfest2: Mission Possible

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

With less than 24 hours to go. I'm sitting in the doctors office again wondering why I'm here?
They did some blood tests last week so I assume it's about the results.
I've never been physically ill apart from colds and flu.
The results are in. I'm fit as a flea. Everything is working in tip top condition. In fact I'm in better shape than I was five years ago!

IMG-20171101-WA0000.jpeg

Back to business.

First check the local weather in Portugal and pack accordingly.
Portugal is still pretty warm at this time of year. October. 20°c
Insert weather. Hot an sultry ;)

Before a trip I always make a photographic inventory of the gear I'm going to take with me. Which I use to check my gear when I'm on my way back home.

Gear
Phones x 2 and chargers
Cameras x 3 + memory cards batteries and chargers.
Tripod.
Microphone.
Laptop and charger + external hard drive.
Power adaptor.

IMG_20171031_122218_312.jpg

I always film way more than I actually use for blogs and videos so plenty of storage is needed.

Documents
Passport
Driving license
Credit cards
Tickets
Boarding pass
Insurance

I always travel as light as possible as you can usually always get most things you may need in country. Like toothbrushes toiletries and consumables.
Plus it saves time in the airport not having to to check in or wait around for baggage.
So if it doesn't fit into my carry on bag. It's not getting packed.

Clothing
One pair formal shoes
One pair formal trousers
One formal shirt
One tie
One jacket

Three t-shirts
One pair combat shorts (lots of pockets)
Four pairs of socks
Four pairs underwear
Walking shoes (essential to have comfortable durable shoes)

IMG_20171031_122332_883.jpg

As you may know from earlier posts. It was a mission to get this flight without taking out a mortgage. Prices have shot through the roof.
One quote I got was for £400 ($500) leaving at stupid o'clock in the morning.
The breakdown of this ticket included £244 in taxes? And we haven't even had #Brexit yet.
European travel is going to be very expensive for Brits it would appear.

Alternative entry strategy. Because I had trouble finding a flight. I looked into taking a car ferry to Santander in Spain and driving across to Portugal. 24 hours just on the ferry? So that was out of the question.

IMG_20171031_165128_344.jpg

Next idea. Catch the Eurostar to Paris then the TGV (high speed train) down to Biarritz on the French/Spanish border. Hire a car and drive across Spain then down to Lisbon.

Again the European train system is not exactly joined up the way it could be?
So that idea was dropped.

I had giving up looking when my wife said she had found something that might suit me.

Somehow picking to go within the same month drastically cut the prices.
So leaving on the first of November and returning on the sixth of November dropped the price to £500?

Screenshot_20171101-144007.png

And that was about it booked the flight and now I'm sitting in the bar of the hotel waiting to meet some of the #promo-uk team

IMG_20171101_165413.jpg

It's amazing what you do in just 24 little hours.

Sort:  

I hope your visit to that place is very useful friend. that you can learn a lot and know great people, I'm very happy for you, take care and have a good stay. enjoy to the fullest your friend the diver


Espero tu visita a ese lugar sea de mucho provecho querido amigo. que puedas aprender mucho y conocer gente genial, me alegro mucho por ti, cuídate mucho y ten una buena estadía. disfruta al máximo. tu amigo el buzo.

hii dear friend @molometer, first of all congratulation to reached safely in lisbon for steem fest 2, best wishes for you. and also taje care of you and your proper check up from doctor. i think its just travelling tiredness, hope you get well soon.and at the end very amazingly whole list(clothes, extra batteris and chargers etc.) for travelling you shared which is very useful. thanks a lot for sharing that article.best wishes.

Thank you @rabeel for your kind wishes. I'm fit as can be and having a great time over here. I'm glad you liked the checklist. So much easier than trying to remember everything.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 3.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @molometer
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @molometer to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey Mike! It was nice to meet you that time after the London Investor Show! Nice to hear that you're able to go to Steemfest. I would have loved to go as well, but we're moving house this week, so I definitely couldn't..

Have an amazing time! I look forward to your Steemfest updates 😊

Hi @redrica moving house is a big project. I'll try to keep you posted. There is so much happening here it's brilliant.

I just caught your latest Steemfest update, all sounds amazing! Have a great time :)

I'm glad you are in good health.

It's good to have a yearly check out just to make sure everything is still working lol

Get well soon and have a safe trip. Goodluck 🙂

Thanks @earisu it's going really well.

SWEET! Buddy, I am thrilled its on!!!

I'm glad to hear you are I'm fit as a flea. Nice camera gear too and how exciting! I hope you've had a fantastic journey so far.

This was a very interesting trip, look forward to reading more 👍🏻

It was a brilliant experience @nataliemk I met many amazing steemians tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58