Just a thought: Getting paid for older posts

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I was thinking if it is possible to get paid for older posts.

2B3C4085-E454-41F1-B800-0268218B764C.png

I’m fairly new to posting on Steemit. Correct me if I’m wrong but the posts kind of become dead after 7 days in the sense they don’t get paid.

We all spend a lot of time and energy in writing Posts and sometimes it is disappointing and discouraging that the posts are not recognised and upvoted in 7 days. This is an absolute fact for the new steemians. People follow the blogs and if they find something worth then i feel the author should be rewarded.

It is like buying an old book, we still pay for it even it is old because it’s worth spending money.

404F0563-51E5-4816-940D-2A1B8ED80FB1.jpeg

It’s autumn and the leaves are falling but we know for a fact that there will be spring again.

Steemit is spreading slowly but surely. I have seen a lot of good posts by new steemians ( not mine) not being recognised and a little hope that these would be recognised and would be paid in future would be a massive encouragement for all the new people and in general for the steemit community.

I am not a tech geek but I believe there is a steem/ SBD pot for payouts on a daily basis and paying for older posts might make the rewards thinner. I am just wondering if a part of this daily payouts is allocated to posts that are older than 7 days. Forgive me if I am not making sense.

Just a thought, have a great time.

I would be delighted if this would come to the attention of developers.

Sort:  

This post has been revived by steem-forever and will get extra rewards. This happens when a post is upvoted on steem-bounty.com after the 7 day post life.

Users can simple upvote via steem-bounty.com continously, so posts can live and earn rewards forever.
Authors can share their steem-bounty.com links and get upvoted forever.

We hope this will allow everyone to earn more meaningful rewards over longer timeframes than before.

Yes it is!

I agree. I've written blogs that barely hit a few votes. Resteeming? I'm still learning the ropes myself.

The reward pool is the same no matter what. So paying for previous posts would not matter since its just people choosing to use use their SP on "older posts". The problem is that if older posts would be able to get rewards then it would be putting a lot of extra information and transactions that the blockchain have to deal with.

It's a problem looked into by a lot and many wants to solve but none have come up with a solution to this.

But I agree, the man who figures out this problem and allows older posts to get payout should be awarded with a million steem lol.

Hopefully it will become possible in the future:)
Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

now if you got one viral post that kept paying, will you put effort in creating more? serving the search engines here is very organically key here and perhaps blockchain is better a tool if used to attain real human growth. as much as we want an audience etc real personal growth by mining the mind incessantly is key. in the past post paid out for 30 days, so perhaps there will be changes in the future. your older posts dont get lost and can still bring rewards and even opportunities. they stay reachable in the search engines and yes steem posts do a lot better in terms of ranking in search engines.

I believe it is shown so many other places that even though older posts generate a certain value people are still motivated to work more. (for example, if you have a blog website with ads) In fact, maybe people would put more effort into making actual valuable "timeless" posts if they knew they could keep generate revenue for them.

At least that seems to be the trend outside of Steem(it)

Just my humble opinion of course:)

Posted using Partiko Android

for sure bro. I would love that too. I just try to seek out out good from even the not so good or at least testimonial use for good. this post is one in the right direction and this is among what stirs change. many have requested this. I am commending this while also painting light on options so one doesnt lose out on the other beauty. these are stuff developers can integrate but not necessarily on steemit currently, though that can happen is why I mentioned that in the past it was 30 days long and now seven and perhaps change can happen again in the near future. in the near term though I see this happening on smt level where coin creators can create their own parameters for coin distrubtion. I know there are developers seeking ways to implement just these. I can remember them currently, but if you explore steemprojects.com and say utopian.rocks yoy will see things in works and perhaps a pull request comment especially for the opeb source projects can help. my token is called the @teardrops smt and I di plan on rewarding past deeds too. my creation is ulogs.org and it is still in works to play some of these things out. the other one is steemgigs.org and the last is macrohard.

I started out in similar fashion as content creator. I also have a witness called "steemgigs".

the direction I came in with in this comment is simply to highlight other facets of steem as well, while indicating that it is possible what is being asked as change with regards to thid has happened in the past. in the past payout was 24 hours too. this is simply evidence that change can indeed happen. while a major step is discussion, exploring other facets of steem, will add to our effectivity in bringing about this change.

I am not exactly sure why rewards arent endless but in general I do think it is sustenable with the same reward pool as not many people end up on older post compared to active ones and this is the selling point of some other blockchain-based platform and I think we will see this happen over time but mostly with smt.

you can also add a donation option underneath your posts. I am also sure apps can evolve on the steem blockchain to bring this about. note that there almost 500 apps already built on steem, so explore other interfaces to see what they offer. there are apps dedicated especially your passion that look to reward the content you make. you may find some on steemprojects.com

some of these apps already offer tokens called smt. smt capability will happen mar 2019, where everyone can create tokebs and communities with its own dynamics. explore some of these other apps as well. some reward tokens for extra activities, some just for having steem power etc

Thank you so much for the reply.
Very much appreciated
I’ll explore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01