You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Updated Steemit.com Terms of Service and Privacy Policy

in #steemit6 years ago

If you're trying to stretch the Chinese law, then well... you'll need to deal with possible consequences.

This is of course true, but I didn't start Steemit with that in mind, I first wanted to write about treating pets and the like. My goals change. But aside from this, it's not always deliberate acts of criticism that is the issue.

As I said in the OP, writing the words 'Winnie the Pooh' can get you in trouble here, because it's considered an indirect mockery of the leader Xi JInPing. Helping charity and human rights may seem like you're doing the right thing, but if it gets too popular, you can get in trouble.

There is a whole Universe of control over things we can't even imagine, depending on the whims of political strife at any given time according to the CPC.

Chinese are often looking for a place to go to escape all this and if they're anything like me, they came to this platform with that understanding - they wouldn't have been aware of anonsteem when first joining, and this is often a problem when companies change their ToS, often under the radar. What you signed up for is no longer what you thought (or never was but deliberately made unclear).

So when it comes to accountability, I don't think it's too fair - perhaps in my case it is, but I feel what I write about is for raising awareness and I hold a belief that this is important in a world increasingly under the thumb of the CPC. It's easy for me to do while I'm living here directly experiencing it. But anyway that's a story for another day. The situation is far more broad than my own anecdotal scenario.

Of course I know steem is not steemit =P but my concern is the lack of clarity in what they hold on to and what personal data they can provide. IP addresses, perhaps? I'm not sure. Liberosist shared some similar concerns that what he is doing is, by the legal standpoint of the west, is very illegal just by holding the server with all the illegal content flowing in and out of it.

The clarity of the legality of steem on the whole is very vague, and steemit hasn't made their position on the whole thing entirely clear. Admittedly I haven't read the ToS yet other than the above point because the ToS was literally not available when they made me click accept (lol), So an in depth read might provide some ease, along with numerous hours of digging into EU and US law...

I just use STINC cause it's easier to write/remember. I had no idea it was a derogatory term? (Though I did pick it up from #price in steem.chat...)

And heyyy I'm not doing propaganda! This is defined as misleading and biased to promote political cause. I'm just gonna write about the facts and the data along with my personal opinion =)

I also enjoy things not exploding into divisive hate, so thanks for that =) I understand I'm writing from a place of ignorance but STINC have not addressed that comment for many hours last I checked, which concerns me all the more

Sort:  

Thanks for the detailed reply!!

There is a whole Universe of control over things we can't even imagine, depending on the whims of political strife at any given time according to the CPC.

I guess many of us who live in constitutional states have no idea how it is to be part of such a controlled system. That is also why we're less concerned about the mentioned changes in the ToS, but well after reading your comments I understand that you're in a completely different situation.

My concern is the lack of clarity in what they hold on to and what personal data they can provide. IP addresses, perhaps? I'm not sure.

Well I guess when the CIA or FBI knocks on your door there is few information you're able to hold back...:-) Of course any mark you leave on the internet can be traced back to its original source. Especially in blockchain based environments where literally every move you make is stored forever, we need to be careful with the information we provide.

Again I understand your concerns due to the situation you live in, but in the end you won't be able to call someone to account for your own doings. I think it's even naive to believe that in decentralized environments you can do whatever you want.

Decentralization is not the same as lawlessness, and ignorance is no excuse. So if you sign up to Steemit.com and start publishing sensitive content, then it'd be rather childish to say: "Nobody told me I couldn't do illegal things here."

I just use STINC cause it's easier to write/remember. I had no idea it was a derogatory term? (Though I did pick it up from #price in steem.chat...)

Haha, the price chat.... Okay, then I'm not surprised you used it...:-D
It's definitely derogatory, so if you were not aware you may try to avoid it in the future...:-))

I'll go catch some waves now (offline)...! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51