You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Home Page Redesign Part 2

in #steemit7 years ago

@theuxyeti, I really like your ideas, and design. One additional thing I wish I could do (and maybe this will be addressed later) is I wish I had an option to turn my feed off, allow only certain profiles in my feed, or have it full on as it is now. As I understand it, my feed activity impacts my bandwidth usage. Is this correct? So far, the only way I have found to limit my feed activity is to mute or unfollow people. Is that the only way? Since bandwidth exceeded limits are a great concern for new users I believe there needs to be a lot more education / information available in the FAQ about best practices on bandwidth preservation. It is extremely frustrating for new users to try to figure this out, and then not be able to do anything about it because of the active restriction.

My bandwidth is currently severely restricted, but I've managed to upvote and resteem this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 15 FEB 2018. I'm following you now, too! Thanks for sharing this on PYPT.

Cheers!

Sort:  

So collectively it seems there is a demand for a feature that allows you to create a favorites. or favorite say 20 users. Once i do this i can then select a Favorites tab that will then be a feed of the people youve favorited. Now this isnt really a solve to bandwidth conflicts it does however allow you to follow a curated tab of followers you want to view differently then the full feed. I hope this is a happy compromise. As for the bandwidth conflict. I too had an issue in the beginning, so perhaps there should be a help section with a request to amp my bandwidth etc. I thought about this as if perhaps a user receives a greater bandwidth as a new user but then perhaps much is wasted and unused due to user fall out. that said perhaps there is a request ticket location to ask for upped usage and then that would automate additional steem for the true advocates. that was my thought at least.

Thanks for following and thanks for the comments. Redesign III coming tonight if i can complete it

@theuxyeti, I like your idea of the ability to pay for additional bandwidth. I would suggest that a person must have a minimum reputation score of say 35 or 40 before being permitted to do this. I'd really like to see some better and more easily accessible information about bandwidth so that new people like myself can understand it, and make more strategic use of activity choices.
I follow and resteem a lot because it is the only way I have figured out to manage my curation activity, and then go back to the articles to build my daily reports from. I would really love to see separate tabs for my published articles and my resteems. That would be amazing, and so much more useful than the current single stream of activity. When I visit someone's blog I want to see what they are writing, not what they are resteeming. I've actually been posting my own writings on my Discord Server so I can find them again without having to sift through my own resteems.
Thanks for caring, listening and working on improvements.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65