Steemers and Digital Nomad's Discuss The Death Of Anthony Bourdain

in #steemit6 years ago


As soon as I heard the news of Anthony Bourdain's death I was immediately saddened. See unlike a lot of others I wasn't a lifelong fan of his work. My first exposure to him back in college. My roommate in college was a lifelong fan of his and as soon as Parts On Known came out like clockwork he would have a freshly cleaned bong, and the newest episode downloaded like clockwork every week. We lived together for a year and a half and would often join him, usually for the freshly cleaned bong but that quickly turned into an adoration of Bourdain. His approach spoke to an implied equality among people, "if they're human, and I'm human and whatever I'm about to eat isn't killing them, it won't kill me" and this willingness to always say yes and be open to trying new cuisine was something that stuck with me.

Upon my graduation my roommate and I did a month long trip throughout Israel. Traveling with Eric(roommate) was absolute bills, if it was edible we ate it, if it was alcoholic, we drank it, no crowd out front? were not eating there. We ate and drank our way through that country like I could never believe. That type of outlook and approach to food and culture stayed with me. To this day I compare all of my experiences abroad to that in Isreal, how many new types of food did I try, what new boose did I try, and can I say cheers in whatever the local language is? These have all becomes ways I measure my experience abroad.

Riley's Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/PliesDaGhost
Brock's Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9Ic007Q-wRpbW0DGLPWAgg
My Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/HonestHourMitch


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67