You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: The Digital Equivalent of Pissing Into The Ocean (and the rampant abuse)

in #steemit6 years ago

Greetings @beggars. You have very clearly demonstrated in this blog alone that you have superior writing and formatting skills, and that you also are bright and capable so I think will some support and coaching you could do well here. And I do not discount what you say at all. Agree actually. It appears I did my last votebot yesterday! Anyway come on over to the community I hang out with. There are so many helpful, caring people I cant keep track of them all. In fact I've decided to follow their lead and dedicate one day a week to nothing but service. I'm posting a link here to a post I made a few days ago. Perhaps it will give you some ideas. But really if you are interested I'll send you links to people I know who would love to assist and who would welcome you into the community. Frankly I was just where you are now and was very frustrated when one of them delegated 500 Steem to me and pulled me into their group. Made all the difference in the world. Anyway heres the post, and if you want some names of people I recommend connecting with I'll get you that list. Blessingshttps://steemit.com/steemit/@mistermercury/success-on-steemit-requires-serving-two-masters. I'm going to resteem this so some more people will see it and reach out.

Sort:  

Howdy @mistermercury this is some solid advice, and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment with some words of encouragement. I pride myself on spellchecking and properly formatting things, I have been blogging outside of Steemit for quite a few years now. Your post is awesome and encouraging, I just gave it an upvote (my vote doesn't carry a lot of weight right now) however small. I need all of the encouragement I can get.

Funnily enough, I bit the bullet and just out of curiosity I spent 1 SBD on a couple of voting bots (not even sure they were good ones). This post went from 8 upvotes to its current 64 upvotes. It definitely wasn't a monetarily motivated move, and I am not sure it will do much for visibility, but interesting nonetheless.

I've been trying a multitude of different forms of content, it seems technology/cryptocurrency categorised content does quite well on Steemit. I am trying to stay clear of entering that dangerous territory of complaining about the state of Steemit, it feels like the thing to do. But at the same time, posts like this were written because I didn't want to sit silently while people upload photos without captions and earn $100.

People like you are the hope that Steemit needs for it to succeed in the long-term. Supporting and fostering authors trying to wade through the sea of spam, desperately keeping their heads above water.

I also have nothing against voting bots. I think they're a necessity as Steemit currently stands, and really no different than using something like Google AdWords to promote your business website to get a competitive edge, except in cases where people are using it to promote trash content (like I frustratingly call out in this post).

Do you have any recommendations on the best and most reputable voting bots to use? This aspect of Steemit is still new to me, and I would hate to end up on a blacklist because I used a scammy/non-reputable voting bot.

Fortunately, I am in Steemit for the long haul and I am not expecting it to be a get rich quick scheme or start making hundreds per post. I see beyond the superficial and see Steemit as a fantastic opportunity to build an audience and get rewarded for writing quality content. I very much see Steemit as a more democratic alternative to a platform like Medium (which is going the opposite way with its closed off stories and paid monthly support tier they introduced).

I would absolutely love all of the help I can get, the names of people who are helping Steemians succeed and the communities/groups that are taking authors under their wings and helping the platform succeed, that would be absolutely fantastic and greatly appreciated.

OK here is the first installment. I recommend you go to @gmichelbkk, he has some great tutorials and information on many tech sites and usages which really help in all sorts of ways. He has some great posts on the use of votingbots. Bots I have used that work well are @redlambo, @allaz, @luckyvotes, @cabbage-dealer, @postpromoter. There are others that are quite pricey to use but if you can afford them they do well too. One such is @jerrybanfield. You might want to go over to @davemccoy. He is not quite a (60) rep yet but is a mover and shaker and is bringing lots of people with him. He is engaged in @quarator and @newbieresteemtday. Both of these really help get you out there to lots of people. You may want to hang out and check out @eco-train. He is developing a very active group but leans towards eastern spiritual approach to things, but a great guy. You can apply to ride his "train". You may want to consider getting to know @wwf. He is a great guy and is very well connected. If you ask him questions he will respond and do all he can to help. Oh, and go check out @curie. These folks can change your life with getting you noticed and promoted. I know people who owe their success here to them alone. Go check out @maverickinvictus especially his post on 4/12. He listed some great people and sites that are launching him big time! You may want to go check out @littlescribe. She has some great tutorials. Some of her posts are just plain old corny but fun. However she has some great information too. Anyway that should get you going in the right direction. One thing I do is to go to these people I've listed and look at their comments and reply sections and then follow those who they are connected to. You must always be developing connections and relationships. This is just as important as posting good material. These folks will check you out and if they see you are sincere in your efforts and that you want to be part of the growing Galaxy of Steemit they will assist.
Many blessings. Just tracking down these folks and following the gold vein will keep you busy. But come on back for more if you want.

Mate, this is awesome and plenty to start with. Thank you for taking the time to do that.

My pleasure to help. Blessings, may you swim with the whales!

Alright! Kind of beat tonight so I'm going to make a note to myself to help out tomorrow. Looking forward to it. Tomorrow is my first service day!

I have not forgotten. Yesterday was a bit crazy. so working on my reply this morning . Won't take long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50