You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Stupid Simple Change to Increase Engagement on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

You've got a really good point here. I think rather than an abbreviation (STU), redoing or re-branding the Steem logo into a recognizable symbol like the dollar sign or Euro or Yen or even Bitcoin would help more.

I mean, even if you've never used that particular currency, think how easy it is to read these: ¥ £ ₿ € when they are connected to a number. As it is, if there were just an abbreviation, I fear that it would seem akin to a non-currency, like Reddit karma or likes or favorites.

In other words, we need a symbol that reads as currency, not upvotes. Right now, the dollar sign does that. (I suspect - I've done no research - that one reason the dollar sign works well is that it looks like an S already.)

So, while I agree that we should get rid of the dollar sign, I think any replacement should be instantly recognizable as money.

Thanks for the great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36