Sort:  

Yeah. Kind of like your posts are your platform. You don't have to share that with everyone if you don't wish too. But you're not silencing them from posting their own content, you just don't need to have abuse all over 'your' posts.

I think it also helps to curve the 'echo chamber' effect a little. I like reading the posts/comments of people i don't necessarily agree with or having a discussion with someone who has a completely different point of view. But i don't like seeing personal attacks/abuse that can't ever actually contribute anything of value. In this case, it doesn't allow me to silence someone across the whole platform for having a different opinion, but it would allow me to stop someone being abusive on my posts in particular.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43