Get rich off Steem! Views from a newbie.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

"In my first week I made $15000!!! Click here to Find out how!!!" We have all seen that a few too many times on here haven't we? So like a lot of people I came onto this site out of curiosity. The website that will pay you thousands for posting! A brief look into it and I was greeted by Jeff Berwicks multiple posts about making $15000. Almost sounds too good to be true, right? So after spending a bit of time on the site I have seen the real potential the site has to be a place where people are incentivised to produce quality content. I did also notice that what seems to be the most consistently high earners are the posts talking about how to get high earnings. My view is that so long as that is the case the platform will exist only for its own sake. At risk of sounding like I'm complaining about not making money, I get the feeling that it is very difficult for new users to garner any sort of visibility. Perhaps I'm just going about it the wrong way, but I don't appear to be alone. I understand that it doesn't happen overnight, however I think some kind of mechanism to help promote new content creators would go a long way to encouraging new users. That's just my humble 2c, I'll be the first to admit I still haven't quite gotten my head around this platform entirely, so feel free to set me straight.

Other Posts I Have Made:

8 Reasons the Government Sucks

Free Speech in Politically Correct World.

Destroying central planning with a Banana

Sort:  

I agree that Steemit is giving undue advantage to those already successful but little attention nor advantage to newbies with good content.

Case in point is the fact that this post, which took me all of a minute to type up/rant out has already received a better response than my other three post which took a fair bit of time, and a lot of thought to write.

You got to build your audience for those payments. People like Jeff are known and bring an audience. They also add value because if the audience they bring which is why some people vote for them.

I understand that. My comment is more about the fact that most of the posts that seem to make money are the ones about making money, which kind of seems like a feedback loop.

Step 1. Already be a whale on steemit.
Step 2. Make more money

With great power comes great responsibility mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54