Are you Consuming or Contributing?

in #steemit8 years ago

It's not about the money, it's the future that has me fired up!

I happen to be a lucky one that has had a few posts go viral and I have also had a few posts that did not get picked up. Publishing my writing, pictures, and videos on Steemit has humbled me. It's a vulnerable state.  Why am I so willing to put myself out there on a new site? It's the community of positive, inspiring people! YOU!

Steemit may revolutionize how we are social on the Internet. 

Welcome to the new world 

Welcome to the world through Steemit. It's not about the money for me, of course upvotes are always welcome, there's just so much more than that going on here. I am excited to meet really amazing people, doing really inspiring things, and being the ones who elevate the world to greatness one post at a time. I want to read posts that are user friendly, uplifting, and to the point. What I don't want is to read people talking about nothing or complaining about everything. I mean, isn't that what Facebook is for?

So I ask, are you contributing or are you consuming? Are you a parasite trying to be the first to make your millions in this gold rush or are you a thoughtful human seeking ways to be of service with your new wealth?

So here's what we (@derekareith and I) are committed to:

With our steem dollars we have purchased some equipment to elevate our vlog game. Our goal is to produce better quality videos to share information, perspective, and knowledge. They may go viral, they may be a flop, but more importantly, we are hoping to meet those in the community that are of like-mind, people in our "tribe". 

Perhaps we go to @mammasitta's house in Indonesia together or have a local meet up in New England. What projects can we start? How can we crowd fund for good causes? For those who travel, what if portions of your blog go to the village of where the post was created? We can do and be so much more then be greedy and selfish, posting blogs all for the money.  

@derekareith and I are committed to our posts being open, authentic and putting ourselves out their for all to see. We are ordinary people, trying to do extraordinary things through Steemit. 


Namaste,

Jessica 


Image Sources: 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/schnappi/8034097244

Nina Paley [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44