You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The opaque Blockchain and the need for translators

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you for putting this out there. I thought I was just stupid or completely missing something because I don't know how to get this 'transparent information.' I don't even know how to figure out how much each upvote is worth. I have figured out which upvotes are coming from bots, generally by clicking on the voter's name and, let's be honest, some of the names of them make it obvious. However, not everyone will necessarily know, so I like the idea of the transparency bot. I'm not entirely sure why people take it so personally though.

Another useful bot that gets a lot of flags is the @grammarnazi. Personally, if I've made a grammatical error I'd appreciate a heads up so I don't end up with it permanently there for all to see. Some people get so offended by it though.

Sort:  

I don't know how to explore it all either and have to rely on the good graces of some members of the community to help out from time to time. There is just so much information to get the head around as well as so much FUD that getting some of it into the open is useful.

Some people might disagree and some of the information might not even be accurate but, how do we get anywhere as a community if every member is expected to hold all skills necessary just to use Steemit effectively? Getting information out allows us to explore it and perhaps have a chance to find better ways.

If these things had been sorted out much earlier, this bot wouldn't exist. If Haejin was addressed early enough, he wouldn't still be raping the reward pool with the highest reputation on the platform. I don't see this bot having any significant effect on rewards of people buying votes or the pool but, it does help highlight some more of the community problems that need to be looked into.

Don't know where it will end up but where we are now isn't conducive to long-term success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39