You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Success on Steemit in 5 Steps

in #steemit8 years ago

Do you every wonder why whales here get massive amounts of upvotes on every single post they write? Maybe even wondered how and why that's fair? It's because they gathered tons of followers through networking before they ever came here, they've already been taught to network efficiently.

Yes in a "working" system that would be the case, but we all know that bot's play a important role in those posts and "vote betting". Great post tho, what I would also like to add is:
Pick a flavor and go with it.
That means to focus on specific subjects and make posts only about those, a crowd that knows what to expect is a happy crowd. Don't make completely random posts. Would you expect Mozart to play something on a Metallica concert? Focus on one or several subjects/things, but this doesn't mean that you shouldn't make a "random" post every once in a while. To conclude: focus on a specific subject/thing or a few and pursued those, but don't forget you can "slip" something other than usual in there to keep it "fresh".

Sort:  

I do agree with you on the fact that bots play a role, but what I meant by what you quoted is that those people have already succeeded elsewhere, so bringing their experiences, successes, and wealth with them to Steemit has made their success that much easier. It wasn't necessarily about just the upvotes.

And on your second point, although you make a great argument, I'm sort of in the middle. As the kind of person who posts about lots of different subjects, I've found post success in topics I never realized would even get popular. I genuinely enjoy posting about different subjects, I don't just cater to a crowd, I'm catering to myself. If I wrote posts about video game or music or something all the time, I'd probably be bored and people would be able to tell through my writing that I've lost interest in the subject.

That's just my personal opinion though. I do really like and appreciate your feedback and the points you made! I'm sure for some people focusing on one subject is a good way to really streamline their content. :)

I do agree with you on the fact that bots play a role, but what I meant by what you quoted is that those people have already succeeded elsewhere, so bringing their experiences, successes, and wealth with them to Steemit has made their success that much easier. It wasn't necessarily about just the upvotes.

lol, I have to quote again :)), truth is only a few of them "brought their following here", that's what I've also meant with that, but now I realize it might came off differently.
About the 2nd point, truth is I'm somewhere in the middle as well, since "I'm a person of many interests so knowledge is ultimately my passion", I'm a person who lives to the fullest and who's in a constant learning process. If I wrote about all the stuff I'm interested in and have knowledge about, it would've been a complete mess, hahahahaa. So what I am doing is I'm focusing on my "biggest passions" and the stuff I have most knowledge about, and writing about that, but I do make a post every once in a while of something "non expected". If you'd ask me, I'd make that "mess", but that'd probably result in less long term interest. Look at all the youtubers for example, each is focused on one specific thing, that made them so successful... But even tho I'm saying all this, I'm still in my mind somewhere in the middle...

Exactly! I think sometimes it takes a bit of wandering before someone finally settles on a select passion or two, like the YouTubers we've mentioned. But even still, there are some YouTubers that don't focus on certain things, they have multiple playlists for all kinds of subjects. I'm with you 100%. Thanks for all the constructive comments! It makes me happy when people get engaged in what I write.

there are some YouTubers that don't focus on certain things

Exactly, we completely understand each-other on that one....
This type of engagement made me realize that we are like-minded , at least when it comes to this subject and made me a follower!

"I genuinely enjoy posting about different subjects, I don't just cater to a crowd, I'm catering to myself." That's a choice I also made soon after joining Steemit. For my freelancing business, I write the business-generating content my clients need. For my info business, I write the "how to" content my freelancing students need. Here, I can write a fairy tale one day, a recipe the next, about my trip to Fiji another day, etc. - and each day, I approach the challenge of writing something that pleases me and engages whoever stumbles upon it with excitement because even I don't know what I'll write about until I sit down to do it.

That's awesome! That's one of the things I really find enjoyable about Steemit - You can write about pretty much anything you want, and as long as it's tasteful and genuine, it will usually garner at least some attention. The freedom to express yourself is very pertinent here. And people getting engaged in my work is probably what most excites me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66