The Steemit Daily Dose: @mindhunter Asks Could The Lightning Network Be Used To Build A Dencentralized Steem Exchange Via Atomic Swaps?

in #steemit7 years ago
Sort:  

Atomic swaps, hmm sounds like a hassle!
Atomic swaps utilize hash time locked contracts then it leverages the addresses and time locks them. Do I have it right?

Yes @road2widsom, you have it right, but the benefit of Lightning is that it allows for instant clearing, meaning transactions occur on the spot, with no waiting involved. Lets get rid of Bittrex and go from SBD to Bitcoin INSTANTLY!

Sounds good, I'm sure its not a flawless technology yet but in a world where everyone wants things fast, I guess its a good thing! I'm sure that's where we are headed you are right!

Nice to see you back safe. Cheers!!!

Sunburnt and jetlagged, but still alive and kicking @gregbit!

:-)!

We just comeback from diving trip. I have no sunburn, water temperature was 56 F and full. This weekend was full thunderstorms in Missouri. Like always we have tons of great time.

Good news from Missouri @gregbit ... always like to hear of your adventures! I'll pop over to your timeline v.soon I promise :)

and downloading the chicken? :)

Not quite! See today's post!

Welcome back! I wonder though how much use this concept would see. What's the % of people on Steemit that would use this? If i would power down i would most likely do so to buy something IRL, not for trading per sé. So then this function would see no use for me. What's your take on that?

It would be most used for Bitcoin to Steem transactions with no third party like Bittrex or Changelly required! = NO FEES!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36