On Steemit The Progress Starts With You ... the @mindhunter journey so far ....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It can be tough here, real tough!


In this timeframe, Steemit has consumed a lot of my mindspace. I've had some good thoughts, and made what I think to be good contributions. I'm constantly thinking about making new posts and replying to old ones. You could say I'm quite heavily invested in this site at the moment. It's expanded my mind and I'm always thinking about new ideas.

It's honestly made me less sure about how I define reality, although I think ultimately that's a good thing. While I've been having all these ideas though, I've essentially just been sitting in front of my computer and neglecting other aspects of my life.



Source


Steemit - the power of dreams


Ideas are excellent. They should be free, open and shared between everyone. However, while ideas transcend people and generations, they are not yet actions. For all the grandiose plans we have on this site, that's all they are; plans. I'm not trying to belittle them in any way, but they cannot influence someone who does not think like you or I in the way actions can.

If you think I'm advocating revolution, rash actions or anything untoward, no fear.

I've had some recent happenings in my life that have made me aware of certain truths. Knowledge is very important, but it's not what life is about. Laugh often, love all those you care about with every fiber of your being, and take a step back to really appreciate all that you have once in a while.

Just as importantly, embrace negative emotions too. Louis CK said somewhere that he was driving his car one day when a immense sadness came over him. He pulled over, and cried for 15 minutes. It wasn't about any specific event, just life. I think that is an incredibly valuable ability, to just let everything overwhelm you occasionally.

By the way, not that I need to tell you, but it wasn't a death that made me realize this, just certain events and a gradual realization more than anything.

I'm not a fitness fanatic, and I don't even follow this advice all the time, but I think everyone should start the day with a morning run. It gives you energy and you feel good about yourself.

By proxy, you begin to feel good about others and the world around you. Small, simple actions can influence people's behaviours and thoughts in titanic ways.

It could be as simple as smiling and saying "hello" to every person you pass on the street today. Maybe you'll donate some of your possessions to a secondhand charity store. Perhaps you might even give a homeless person a place to stay tonight. Something as basic as listening to someone when they need to talk can change their life.

What I'm trying to say is, progress starts with you. All the postulation about amazing plans to change it make no difference if you are not the change you want to see in the world. Have ideas! Have heaps of them. But don't focus all your energy on thinking. Focus an equal amount on doing.

If you are a good person, people will be - consciously or otherwise - influenced by your way of life. They'll start to see things the way you see them, the way they should be. We can't teach people to think that the world is fucked. But we can nudge them in the right direction, and we can improve so much by just loving thy neighbor. In the words of John Lennon, all you need is love.

I remain the humble and ever steeming on,

@mindhunter


Sort:  

Great post mate, spoken from the heart. Keep on steeming!!

One blockchain. One love my auld friend o' bawbaggery!<3 ROAR on buddy! So glad your hitting the triple digits in posts now just like the Wongster is now as well! Well done dude!! ... your trail blazing for our nation now! Godspeed that frickin boomster lion thing!!

Lol, I never count on it!! We just do what we can!!

I got your triple digit back Mr Lion Bar!😉

Now i know why john lennon is in there ;)

I like to keep you guessing @immarojas ... I like his surreal presence :)

Well..love is surely lacking in most places ;)

Come forth and receive a hunter hug .... 😉

Oh am good lolsss lots and lots in this part of the world ahaha

I'll warn ya! I'm a grabber!!😉

Sure you can run?

Ha ha! Bit out shape actually from over-steeming! LOL! 😉

My first thought crossing my mind... a little help from my friends / the beatles 😉

Welcome to the Steemit magical mystery tour @koalafamily ... an awakening in itself :)😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉 Ooops! Gone a bit mad there!!

I hope your finger doesn't hurt 😮

They are all calloused from over-Steeming ... I'm fine 😉

Good to hear! Got me scared!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30