Instead Of An Up-Vote Slider For Up-Votes Why Not Have A Steem Power 'Power Down' Slider So We Can Choose Our Payment Schedule?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Say From 2 Weeks To 2 Years?

Perhaps you want a quick lump sum of STEEM or just wish to be drip fed your STEEM?

I'd prefer to see the slider on my 'Power Down' Payments than on my Up-votes button.

Just a suggestion ... anyone else feel the same?

Love to hear your comments below.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

P.S. With choice of Power Down payment schedules, the Steem dumped for speculators may be more evenly distributed rather than be lumpy??

It would be awesome if the longer the schedule, the higher the inflation rate, thus rewarding those who stay powered up longer more.

This is an interesting idea, but I wonder how it would work in practice? If you choose to power down a lump sum in a short amount of time, would you then be penalized with a low daily interest from your SP for some amount of time? And would that penalty really make up for dumping a large amount of Steem on the market at once? I think more thought needs to be given to this, hard to imagine how it would work.

Power down quicker and lose inflation - correct! Slow release of Steem = retain inflation for as long as possible. I'd be interested to see how it would all work in practice??

Exactly. That is one of the reasons why I love this idea. I do hope it finds traction??

You never know! Try and talk about it with some witnesses and see what they think. :)

Yeah, I'll maybe drop Mr Shrem a message if this post takes off ??;)

I think we've got the flesh and bones on Steemit now - it appears to be small incremental changes from now onwards. There is nothing on the platform I'm uncomfortable with now :)

This is a fascinating idea @mindhunter. I think it speaks to the issue of allowing investors an opportunity to get out early with possibly less interest than the long-term holders. Personally, I have no intention of powering down until Steemfest 2 (if I must). Hopefully the weekly payout will cover my costs by then.
As for the vote slider... (sigh) I hate it. I think it's completely useless unless you're a mid-sized dolphin or bigger. I cannot understand why plankton and minnows want to vote 1% on stuff. really?!?!

Agreed on the up-votes slider! SteemFest 2 should be a blast wherever it is??

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think an SP slider would confuse the minnows less than the slider for up-votes.

At first I has no idea what the up-vote slider did??

You choose a percentage of your upvoting power you want to use when voting up posts.

Thanks @acidyo - loving your new avatar by the way! Class.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59