Sort:  

@mindhunter I've always enjoyed our conversations along the way in comments but it sure is depressing to see a one line post that states the obvious get a whopping 3 votes including your own taking up space in the feed and earning more than posts I've or many others worked on for hours that have actual content and double digit votes at less than a buck in earnings. This is the crap that will make people quit, and then your platform will fall apart and become useless for even your self votes. Do you think long tail at all? Do you care about the future of this place? Do you care what you are doing to the entire community with this sort of stuff? I'd really like to know, because in the past, we've exchanged some very pleasant comments and replies, but I personally find this post completely heartless, and not at all valuable or helpful to the future of the platform.

???? @mindhunter spends HOURS adding to this platform in many ways. This particular post may be a one liner, but a - it's a great one liner and b - he has earned the right to put as much or as little into his posts as he chooses to. I think your statement is catty and untrue. It's not taking up space, it's taking a space and before it replaces one of your posts it's likely he will replace it himself with another of his. I'm not sure why it has struck such a cord with you. Go check out the trending page where people are making hundreds off posts that sometimes don't have much content either. But those authors, just like @mindhunter have earned their reputation through loyalty and consistency on this platform and their rewards reflect this. How you could call such a positive post "heartless" is beyond me. It's made a couple of dollars, it's hardly reaping the reward pool yet, live and let live dude! If you want your posts to make more then get to it, tag them correctly, connect with the right people, share them on chat channels or social media, write honestly and authentically and often - just like @mindhunter does. I don't mean to sound confrontational, I am not, but I will defend someone who has supported me and many others like me as well as adding a tremendous amount of value to the platform as a whole on a daily basis. What he chooses to put up is exactly that, his choice. As far as I can tell you've only been here for a month, perhaps you are yet to see some of the truly unhelpful things that get posted or flags that get raised etc - and please don't worry about his input towards the future of the platform, go and look at the thousands of comments, posts and videos he has made. People like him are the future of the platform. We're all friends here, I've followed you and I'll look out for your stuff, but please, don't lash out unnecessarily just because your not getting what you think you deserve. Steemit is not predictable, sometimes the posts you spend the longest on make the least and vice versa. In my opinion the trick is just to keep posting - something I learnt from @mindhunter .

Loading...

If you don't mind me chiming in with my 2 cents - I largely agree with @daisyd as well. I'm also a newbie (been here only a few days!), and definitely understand the frustration you're feeling. It's true that Steem gives a HUGE advantage to those who have already built up a sizable amount of Steam (pun intended), and I personally accept this as the nature of the beast. If those, like @mindhunter, decide to sometimes post witty one liners or minimal content, that is entirely their decision, and as @daisyd pointed out, he has definitely "paid his dues" by this point. And even if he hadn't, the whole point is for everyone to post authentically with whatever is on their mind. I just made a super short post yesterday that received a whopping total of 1 vote - my own (https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@jobsande/bitcoin-promoted-by-bollywood-celebs-popularity-continues-to-snowball). It's ok though! I'm here to have fun and learn, and I didn't expect much attention for it anyway...just a random musing.

Who has the right to dictate what is right or wrong here in a decentralized network? When you find that person you let me know :)

That person is the community that I talk out of quitting every day, because they see this and assume producing quality and doing the work will be futile. Perhaps you forgot YOUR first day, but they come in and live it EVERY day.

I have 26K of long tail posts @sircork - I'm the #1 poster on Steemit! As Sinatra once said, you gotta know the rules before you can break them :)

Apparently you only read yourself, Mr Zero Followed. But you might want to take the 20 seconds to look up above and see what contributing to the platform looks like. My dad used to say, "some people like to talk just to hear their brains rattle" and that's what not promoting anyone but yourself, and then bragging that somehow makes you a community hero sounds like to me.

Still awaiting a valid argument. Still not holding my breath.

That is your choice to unfollow Sir. I certainly won't hold it against you. As David Bowie once famously said "I'm not here to make people understand, I am here to live my life." [An urge to create is never wholly selfish ... whatever that creation may be.]

I have to follow y'all. I get WAY too many people questioning posts like this not to be well informed about why.

Long tail/short tail I've seen and done it all @sircork. I never question why on here. Look out for my Steemiversary Daily Dose coming soon ... its been a wild ride of a year!! :) Steem on my friend!

Also, nice Bowie and Sinatra quotes. Got any original ones? :D

The network has the right. I could downvote to express disagreement on value ... I don't want to have to though. I would prefer if everybody just consider the community and the effects of their voting.

I am in full agreement with your @beanz :)

Thank you for lending some credence and "lift" to my response @beanz.

since I'm an individual, I'm not going to repeat anything ;)

Good afternoon Paolo. Thanks for staying Paolo :)

I repeat what you said! :P

built relationship with other user, maybe that can help

An individual is a person independent of the others, an autonomous being that is defined by its rational capacity and its willpower. Every human being has a name and surnames that exemplifies the unique and unrepeatable personal essence of any human being, but the individual concept is the term used to refer to a person in a generic way, ie not to someone in particular.

Having said that, I must point out that some individuals have a harder time growing up than others within Steemit. I have been on the platform for a short time and I have seen how the Spanish speaking community (which is my case) we find it difficult to generate profits with our publications, many of them are of high quality and yet the votes they receive are of very low value.

I think steemit has incredible potential, but unfortunately it is not well balanced. Maybe over time things will improve for everyone, and we will not all feel included and equally valued!

Thankful for your contributions @mindhunter

Individual, just like everyone else ;)

If you are not open to anyone..you are individual,this platform is full of humble and kindness people...be patient to everyone,i know your a good person @mindhunter

Thank you for your kindness @bien :)

My pleasure @mindhunter same here!

And we can help eachother :)

yes...now tag all the "got-dam" bots...:P

You're not the messiah, you're a very naughty boy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32