Why I Love Steemit & Why I Think Steemit Is In Trouble!

in #steemit6 years ago

I've been blogging on Steemit for about six months. I'm a 'minnow', trying to find my place in this “as of now” beautiful community. I have never signed up for social platforms such as “Facewhat”. When I found out about Steemit platform, I knew it was different. I knew it was something I would love to be part of and still am. I love Steemit, because there is so many good and creative souls I met here.


I've already made a few of steem dollars, and I don't plan to cash it out any time soon. Perhaps ever! Sometimes I hold SBD’s and wait for a better rate to convert it into Steem and sometimes I convert it into steem power, as most steemiens do, because I feel that it is well worth it.
Most people would agree:

  • If you can dream it, you can Steemit
  • Steem like there's no tomorrow
  • Whales can make Steem with Steemit in a towel in their own steam-room
  • Steemit is like a little German shepherd puppy. It takes time to grow and it can be rough when it's young, but it will grow to protect you.

However, longer I’m here, more I’m noticing how steemit platform is changing into delegation bots and vote selling bots. I’m not talking about buying votes only. It’s not that I’m completely against buying votes or delegating SP. At some point I agree delegating SP is a great idea. Some people want to step out of steemit for some time, or some people want to take a short break.

This way they can delegate their SP and let the money work for them. The biggest problem in my opinion is it’s just getting out of control. Most people with big accounts rather delegate their Steem power instead looking for a good content worth upvoting. Not everyone, there are still real human steemiens looking and upvoting great contents and I have a huge respect for them.



Buying vote Bots are spreading faster and faster and it’s result is most great contents not being supported. I’ve seen great authors earning $40-$50 per each post just a few months ago, now they earn less than $7.00 on average. I’m talking about good quality contents. The perfect example where all these upvotes and rewards are disappearing is just take a look at trending page. What’s also frustrating in my point of view is some people talking about how buying votes can destroy steemit, but at the same time using these bots for them self.

Aside from the obvious floodgate of spam and low quality content getting upvoted by buying votes there are also whale wars. Whale wars is a real thing. It's insane and in my opinion this is one of the reasons the platform will continue to struggle. It’s really absurd! The people meant to curate content and promote quality posts go to war with each other over their own insane drama. Im not going to mention specific names, but since they became some sort of celebrities, you get an idea whom I’m talking about.

My Conclusion:

Perhaps, to help the community, we need to make it more human!

Perhaps, to make the experience better, it should have the human touch!

Perhaps, it is time to balance buying votes and delegating!


That’s my opinion. I still believe in Steemit platform. However, I also believe there have to be made some changes to encourage people not to delegate at this rate, not to buy votes at this rate and at the same time not to give so much power to voting bots. At the end most of the curation rewards go to them, the voting bots. I believe the addition of SMT’s and Oracle will have a positive impact on Steemit platform.


Sort:  

Hello friend, and I support you in your post, here in our community we have learned and known many things that at least in my case I was unaware, always grateful, good content greetings.

Well, have you invested in bots? It's rewarding. You should make that money. This is a money-making site. Don't forget that. Also, read my blog: https://steemit.com/steemit/@tjfire/stop-whining-and-invest-in-steemit-like-never-before

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87