The Four Features that will make Steemit Even Better

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I have been on Steem for 3 days now and I am enjoying every single minute of it. One of the first things that I do when I wake up is to login to my Steem account and see what's happening. I find that lately, I have been waking up earlier than my normal time, just so that I can have more time to Steem.

Major props to whoever designed the Steem platform. I love it. I think it's very clean and blazing fast. I feel that Steem can even be more amazing if it were to adapt the 4 features below.

Two Factor Authentication

One thing that continually amazes me is the amount of money some of the top content is fetching. I've seen users with posts that continually earn thousands of dollars each time and account values north of $50,000. When you think of the potential of Steem and the future, these accounts could be worth even millions as the price increases over time.

We must take additional measures to protect our accounts.

Everyone on Steem has the ability to look up your profile and see your wallet size and total account value.

When you think about traditional cryptocurrency wallets, we tend to store it in cold storage as much as possible. We don't usually touch the computer that's connected to the wallet, and that's usually because we want to minimise exposure to any potential theft.

Now with Steem, we are encouraged to use our accounts everyday. And if you are like me, you use Steem on your regular every daily computer. I feel that if we have a Google Authenticator or another type of Two Factor Authentication set up, it will give me an additional peace of mind and make it that much harder for theft to occur.

After all, if all the exchanges use Two Factor, why shouldn't we?

Show Top Posts of All Time

I am a Redditor and one thing that I noticed right away that was missing is the ability to sort through the different posts, to see the best performing posts of a given time. When I find a new subreddit, I usually check out the top post sof all time just to see some of the best content that I may have missed out on.

While we do have a hot and trending feature here, I feel that the posts are stagnant and do not change much over the course of the three days that I have been here. I see the same content each day and I feel sad because I want to see the content that performed extremely well, but got buried away over time.

Having the ability to sort by the top post of the month, 3 months, a year, and even all time would be awesome. It gives a chance for us newbies to look at the posts that performed the best over time and gain some inspiration from it. Seeing topics or the content that performed well gives us something that we can work hard and aspire to achieve.

Visual Editor for Blog Posts

Wordpress is the most popular blogging platform in the world. It does many things extremely well to help simplify the whole blogging experience. I feel that when people start to hear more about Steem, they will begin to migrate from Wordpress and join our community instead.

One thing that Wordpress does well is their visual editor. While, we have a markdown styling guide that is helpful, the visual editor is extremely intuitive. It will provide a seamless transition for the millions of users that currently use Wordpress.

Scheduled Posts

If you are like me, sometimes a really great idea for a blog post pops up and you stop what you are doing and focus your full attention on writing. The problem for me is that I usually have these epiphanies in the middle of the night and by the time that I am finished, everyone is asleep.

Even though the Steemit community expands across all time zones, I feel that there are still certain times of the day where you can get better traction if you post. Having the ability to choose the time and schedule your post allows us to try and maximise the full potential of the post before it gets buried.

I hope you enjoyed my post and would love for you to upvote and resteem so that the developers can take a look at my requests.

If you like my work, please support a newbie by following me @mikewong. I will do my best to provide meaningful content.

What features would you like? Please comment below =)

Sort:  

2fa would be good and a lot more secure. Not sure how that would work with the third party applications though.

I'd love scheduling just to spread the posts out throughout the day but not that important for me as i just post when i can.

I totally agree. 2FA is very important. I would like to have also:

  • Google Paid Adds (some light versions) or equivalent. Give possibility to adversise corporations and we can earn from adds
  • Video content
  • Paid channels - I would like to open also paid channel here
  • Online VOD + comments
  • Live streaming
  • Questions & answers like stackoverflow.com

Ahh. Google Ad Sense and sharing that revenue will be very interesting. I remember a while back there was a social network that tried to do that. It was called Tsu.

Unfortunately, they used referrals to grow their userbase and came off as really spammy. Steemit is doing it correctly though!

There is schedule option on the eSteem app. Many more feautures to come. But I feel like those 3 first proposals should be fine. 2 Factor Auth. is needed. Look how easily those white hats claimed so many accounts.

That was the major inspiration for the post. Very easy pickings for those white hats and definitely two factor will help a lot. Thanks for letting me know about eSteem, I will check that out!

Loading...

Welcome to Steemit, All newbies I have seen are familiar with features not provided on Steemit and would like some of these to be incorporated.

I have found that Steemit is very open and anyone with the know how can write apps to be attached to the Steemit platform which makes this a wonderful feature. Unfortunately I'm not a techie so I have to rely on others to provide the function.

Having said that, I think Steemit being a very basic and clean blogging platform is very attractive. Not to mention the many other function that Steemit can also do, which I am just exploring myself as a May 2017 newbie myself.

upvoted. Good articel. 2FA would be absoltely necessary.

Nice post! I would love to see those features being implemented into Steemit. Im sure we will see many more features being implemented in the future.

It nice to know that many steemians like you what to make steemit a better site. Thank you for sharing. I hope it will be considered.

Thanks for the comment! I really do want the community to be the best! I really hope it gets considered!

Having just uploaded my first post, I totally agree with the need to integrate a visual editor into blog posts. I couldn't even underline text.

Welcome! Glad you are here!

I come from a Wordpress background and it's just so much easier and intuitive. Haha I am trying to underline, but I am getting italics =S

Congratulations @mikewong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I would like to see a book marker for my favorites posts and better search features.
What makes steem beautiful is because of Steemers like you.

Congrats, @mikewong you've been featured on
"Steem is beautiful" ... Stop by and take a look.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steemisbeautiful/what-makes-steem-beautiful-013

I am following, upvoting and featuring you.

Welcome to Steemit > I'm happy you could joi\ us.
Hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:
https://www.steemithelp.net/
george-carlin-WELCOME.gif
Stay Original >Stay Creative > SteemOn Daily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99