Steem: the pocket money dispenser for celebrities

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I am waiting for the first post from Kim Kardashian, showing off her huge butt in the cover pic and making 30k. This will be the begining of the end - if we are not already there. Paying posts with money in such a direct way kills quality and any meaningful discussion. Steemit will never replace Reddit or medium, or even a specific themed forum, because people are there to actually discuss, not make quick bucks. There are a million tools, slack channels, gliph channels etc that try to pick potential trending posts for people to mindlessly vote. I really doubt if vigilantes posts are read by more than 10% of those who upvote them.

Apart from that, the value of steem is going down. You cannot track the dollar, when you pay 10k per celebrity post, the value will crash. And that's when the vigilantes will dissappear. Because they don't give a fuck.

This was a comment I made on another post. I am reposting it here just in case a whale misclicks on the upvote button. Because I am here for the chance to make a penny. If I wanted something more than that I would be somewhere where the dollar sign is not on every post and comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71