ENGLISH MISTAKES WE DO MAKE MOST TIMES - Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

According to vocabulary dictionary, "A mistake is an error, a goof, a slip-up. When you make a mistake, you've done something incorrectly. Mistake has a lot of uses, but they all have to do with doing the wrong thing. A mistake in math class will result in the wrong answer, but a mistake with a gun could get someone killed."

common-mistakes-8.jpg

Let's start by examining some common phrase/clause we thought was right, which actually turned out to be a blunder....👇👇👇

You're taking it personal❌❌❌
You're taking it personally ✔✔✔

He is matured❌❌❌
He is mature ✔✔✔
He has matured ✔✔✔

The reason is Because ❌❌❌
The reason is that ✔✔✔

My stuffs ❌❌❌
My stuff ✔✔✔

Night vigil ❌❌❌
Vigil ✔✔✔

Traveling bag ❌❌❌
Travel Bag ✔✔✔

As at when due ❌❌❌
As and when due ✔✔✔

Be rest assured ❌❌❌
Rest assured ✔✔✔

I'm hearing you ❌❌❌
I can hear you ✔✔✔

My names are ❌❌❌
My name is ✔✔✔

All manners of ❌❌❌
All manner of ✔✔✔

She delivered a baby boy ❌❌❌
She was delivered of a baby boy ✔✔✔

Lacking behind❌❌❌
Lagging behind ✔✔✔

Crack your brain ❌❌❌
Rack your brain ✔✔✔

Return it back ❌❌❌
Return it ✔✔✔

Nigeria comprises of 36 states ❌❌❌
Nigeria comprises 36 states ✔✔✔
Nigeria is comprised of 36 states ✔✔✔

Wake keeping❌❌❌
Wake keep ❌❌❌
Wake ✔✔✔

Exercise patience ❌❌❌
Be patient ✔✔✔

Barbing saloon ❌❌❌
Barber shop ✔✔✔

I forgot my phone at home❌❌❌
I left my phone at home✔✔✔

Borrow me your pen ❌❌❌
Lend me your pen ✔✔✔
May I borrow your pen ✔✔✔

More grease to your elbow❌❌❌
More power to your elbow ✔✔✔

Funny enough, I've never liked him❌❌❌
Funnily enough, I've never liked him✔✔✔

My body is scratching me ❌❌❌
My body itches ✔✔✔

Letterhead paper ❌❌❌
Letterhead ✔✔✔

I'm not your mate ❌❌❌
We're not mates ✔✔✔

You're mannerless ❌❌❌
You're ill-mannered ✔✔✔

Horn at the car in front❌❌❌
Honk at the car in front ✔✔✔

Happy birthday in arrears ❌❌❌
Happy belated birthday ❌❌❌
Belated happy birthday ✔✔✔

I will sleep at 10pm❌❌❌
I will go to bed at 10pm ✔✔✔

Just when I thought I have seen it all❌❌❌
Just when I thought I had seen it all ✔✔✔

First come, First serve❌❌❌
First come, First served ✔✔✔

Please dash me ❌❌❌
Please hand it on to me ✔✔✔
Please give me ✔✔✔

I have a running nose ❌❌❌
I have a runny nose ✔✔✔

I have a running stomach ❌❌❌
I have a runny stomach ❌❌❌
I have an upset stomach ✔✔✔

Addy=Address (Addy is a short form of address commonly used in making statement which is wrong)
Homer-mistakes-300x249.jpg
Happy birthday in addy =Happy birthday in address ❌❌❌

Working Experience ❌❌❌
Work Experience ✔✔✔

crop.jpg
Learning is a process and understanding is a the progress we make from learning something new, while knowledge is the destination of all that we've ruminated and digested.
I hope we'll learn from our mistakes and make corrections where appropriate, thanks.

Kindly check back for more Educational post on my blog.

Source: Google.com

DQmYfKYGX2M8Qc8nNUi6TqUzHKoeLmafZ6PVBMjt7wjXe5R.gif

Sort:  

You really tried for these corrections. More power to ur elbow.

Thanks for taking your time to read through @Judiclearity, I hope it's useful to you too

Yes. Many people don't care to read posts. They just go straight to up vote them. I have learned many things in many posts I read on this platform.

Congratulations @mikestyle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mikestyle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64