Could Steemit Topple The Ivory Towers of Academia?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemit I Believe Could Provide a New Kind of Model for Secondary Education- Academia 2.0!

It's been terrible watching a generation of kids become burdened with overwhelming student loan debt for what I believe is in many cases a dubious educational experience. College is ridiculously overpriced and it seems to me that all the money goes in the wrong pockets. Graduate student instructors for the most part do all the heavy lifting as far as undergrad teaching is concerned and they are treated like peons. On top of this schools put insane amounts of money into things like football teams and infrastructure and administrative bonuses that really do nothing to enhance the quality of education. More egregiously university research which is publicly funded ends up benefiting the private sector and that profit should somehow partly subsidize the the academy but it doesn't for the most part.

Researchers slave away doing work that is the foundation, the underpinnings of science yet they often walk away with very little compared to the value of their work . Instructors and Professors work very hard and always live in peril if they are not tenured. The university system can be brutal and demeaning, the pressure to publish or perish can crush people and leads to academic fraud of all sorts. Think all that science is on the up and up? Well I hate to tell you there is a lot underhandedness at play and I've seen it first hand.

I'm just brainstorming on the fly here, but what if Instructors had online portals here and students paid for their credits by upvoting? What if peer reviewed science was all on a blockchain and researchers got paid for their publications and work directly?
I don't have it all figured out, it's just a notion but my intuition tells me this is the future of learning , one more reason I'm totally geeked out on Steemit!

I hope I can spur further discussion with this post and the idea can evolve with all of the high voltage brain power on Steemit!

Thanks for reading!

Mike

Sort:  

Check out @pharesim's project pevo.

Also, I am doing mini-courses on a variety of math topics. Follow along!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.4 and reading ease of 66%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28