Steemit Hard fork 19 causes markets to crash?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

crash.png

SBD down 16%, STEEM down 14%, ETH down 13%, BTC down 5% all in the last 24 hours!

I noticed my upvotes went from $.06 to over $2.00 with hard fork 19 which is awesome!

So do you think that this change had anything to do with such a huge downturn?

Sort:  

No. Status ICO caused a major disruption in the blockchain, and Steemit is finding a correction.

Edit:
A lot of different factors would contribute to what we're seeing in the bitcoin world.

  1. Ethereum block chain is dealing with major disruptions caused by ICOs
    status-network.png

  2. Bitcoin has been fluctuating, but has been staying relatively steady.

  3. Steemit's hardfork brought a lot of attention to Steemit, and with attention comes investment. You buy on rumors, you sell on news.

  4. Coinbase.com has been down for a while. This is a major exchange in USA.

  5. GDAD dumped ETH to $40, but immediately rebounded.

There are other factors always, but notably, the hardfork alone did not cause an entire downtrend for the cryptocommunity. PS - watch your steemit price slowly go back up, just don't trade it ... HODL.

I was going to get some steem today !

Not a bad time to! With the new hardfork, it's bringing a lot of attention to steemit. Buy in small portions over a period of time and watch it grow :) Just don't trade or sell it away too fast, you don't want to lose out on money!

Good luck!!

Great read and very informative! Thanks!

it will raise again.... :)

Its seems that volatility is to be expected in the crypto world! "Buy and Hold" is my creed. For as long as the internet is up and running, I think there are great gains to be made! Stay the course :)

wow! My steem power is about $.03 .... :')
You are big whale. upvoted and followed you! :)

Well, thank you @jaytop for thinking of me as a big whale ;) With this hard fork I do feel bigger because my vote before this was only worth $.08 and yet I had over $2,000 in steem power so it was a little discouraging. But with this new power comes great responsibility ;) lol But I do see I need to watch my voting power. I've been going on a voting spree and now my whale juice is going down.

I'm also wondering this, but it's very good for the whole steemit community I suppose

Yes, I agree as long as the price remains up.

Well its all been steady now lately. BTC going up again :)

Maybe for 10 days the short of the SBD will drop a bit but will go up better afterwards;)

Steem is going to survive even a tsunami
We will live and witness the greatest coin ever
It will have a huge growt in a few months
Due to new numbers of steemit users
Love to All

This is the first I've heard of this! Great theory! Thanks for the awesome content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43