SteemIt Suggestion: Get Rid Of Google Search!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It’s a bit sad that a platform like SteemIt doesn’t provide its users with an internal search engine...

83_BD7_A63-0_A6_E-4333-_ABE5-_C9_C0_C9_D6_DF13.png

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve got the feeling that the recent wave of new users joining SteemIt is less beneficial for the platform than one should think. When I just started here a couple of months ago, I found loads of useful information on how to get started by simply following the ‘SteemIt’ tag.

These days, if you want to find some good tips in that stream, you have to work your way through loads of crappy posts that bring absolutely no value to the platform.

I find myself using the ‘Search’ feature more and more every day.
And the more I use it, the more I realize how unuseful it actually is.

The fact that a platform like SteemIt doesn’t seem to bother to provide its users with a decent search feature, is beyond me.

Why on earth would you add a Google Search Engine that displays results in an awful way by showing plain text and links - which is completely different from the SteemIt layout - but also limits the results to only 10 pages?

There is so much useful information on this platform going to waste, simply because you can’t find it anymore.

Nowadays, every small and simple site has its own integrated search engine... If you’re able to build an extended social blogging platform like SteemIt, it can’t be that hard to make searching that platform user-friendly, can it?

I can’t imagine that Google Search has been implemented because of the money that is earned whenever a member uses it. However, if you consider how many times it is used each day, we’re talking about a lot of cold, hard cash ...

If that would be the case, it would be really sad, so I’m pretty sure there must be another reason. Except... I can’t think of any.

If anyone has a clear vision on this, I’d be very happy to hear why a platform that is all about quality, provides such an unprofessional service...

Sort:  

And: all your suggestions are valid, but remember Steemit is in beta. There's for almost everything you could wish for an external app/website that solves it, but they're not yet integrated in the platform itself. Take a look at http://steemtools.com/ and discover some of those apps :-) Enjoy!

There are some great apps out there, I know. That's what makes SteemIt so difficult for beginers: there's an app for almost everything, but on a different site. After 4 months I still can't remember if I need to use Steemstats, Steem.supply, steemnow or steemd to fid the info that I want. :-)

Maybe I'm too impatient, forgetting the platform is still in beta.
In spite of all that, I do really like the platform, though

I just bookmark the coolest apps and visit them once in a while :-) I’m sure you’ll find your way even though it can be overwhelming indeed!

I have been seeing the SteemIt profile of AskSteem donzens of times, but somehow I managed to miss that there was an entire website that was a SteemIt search engine... So stupid of me. lol
Thanks. Another thing learned today :-)

Agreed. Get rid of Google. It would be so nice to be able to just search the STEEMIT platform and the #blockchain

Seriously. When I saw that I thought I was on a blog from 2004 trying to make Adsense money. Come on Steemit.

I had the same feeling :-)

Actually you are correct and wrong in different aspects. The search engine from Google can be programmed to set search limits within the website in Steemit and nothing outside Steemit website, so you are searching only within Steemit.

You are frustrated because of the useless post on Steemit and that's something that can not be controlled in a platform like Steemit because it is user driven unless you start flagging every useless content.

It is also more beneficial to have Google be a search engine, which can grow Steemit community.

I know Google Search can be set to search the site only. I used that myself... back in 2009.
The thing is that you're always limited to 100 results, either sorted by date or by relevancy...

Can you please explain what you mean with 'It is also more beneficial to have Google be a search engine, which can grow Steemit community.' How can using Google Search bring in more users?

Google is a big company and everything typed in using their search engine is saved and link back to Steemit. Therefore exposing Steemit more and will drive more users to Steemit.

Okay, I get it.
Still, I don’t think it’s very user-friendly

Now that s a good and simple idea. Minimalistic.

This post has received a 4.39 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @mike314-0005.

I hate it too! I rather have a search for hashtags or steemit content from writers by keywords... failed..

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I agree! The google search is nearly pitiful and I hope it is soon remedied. I am sure that the decision to use google was partially because the have the largest reach out there and it was probably the best option at the time. Like you said though, the money is coming in and its time to do some housekeeping. Good article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53