Humbled, Honoured and somewhat surprised...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

by the outpouring of support over the last few hours.

If @transisto is to be believed, the calculations for popularity lie only in the views on steemit.com - apparently, the fact that my blogs can be read on other platforms such as busy.org and esteem.com and are unfortunately not counted on steemit.com seems to have either slipped his/her mind or been ignored. I'm not convinced, however. I am more cynical than to believe that's the reason for flagging 11 of my posts.

Dear Reader, your votes on my work are worth less than his/hers because he/she has more money than you do and so... the message of 'fuck you' comes across in the flag. The fact that you enjoyed my writing isn't as important as the fact that @transisto wants to make everyone feel the POWER! wielded.

Can I ask you all to do something for me please?

Can you go to my page on steemit.com, not busy.org or esteem and click on every one of my blog posts to register the fact that you've seen the post here on steemit.com.

Then would you mind going here: https://steemit.chat/direct/Transisto and messaging @transisto to voice your displeasure at the decision to flag my posts?

Maybe if @transisto is made aware of how many people actually do read my posts, there may just be a reversal on the flags and possibly even an upvote or five?

Fingers crossed and thank you.

Sort:  

Michelle, writers on Steemit stand behind you. This has the potential to be utterly devastating to authors who wish to make this platform their home. You've done the work that deserves the payout, and it just baffles me why you should be penalized rather than rewarded.

Thank you.

I have my theories and I'll let you know if ever I'm proven right ;)

Thanks for the support. I appreciate it more than you can know.

I have been clicking on all your posts I haven't yet checked for a half hour now!

Full Steem Ahead!

Onward and upward!

Thats the smart way ;-)>

So sorry to hear that you have been targeted by this red terror. The whole point of this platform is to reward people for making the effort to post original creative content. If this comes with the constant fear of having your account destroyed at someone's whim, because you actually get successful and you're earning "too much" then who in the hell is going to come and post here?

Thank you for taking a stand. I'm glad that the community has come out to support you. You also have my support 100%.

Thank you! It's taken a few days to get back to my post. I was angry and didn't want to look at it again.

Yeah, I understand. I'm glad you're up and running again, and back up to speed with posting your work on Steemit. I get a feeling the initial witch hunt is over, and even the downvoters realise it's not worth the backlash to pick on people the way they picked on you. I think we all need to get used to taking a stand and resolving things as a community. That's not encouraged in the "real world" where we've all been so programmed to instinctively and reflexively bow to the government and Big Brother. Here there's no government to come and fix things, we have to be grown ups and make this project work ourselves.

As I just said in the conversation I'm trying to carry on over there, your serialized fiction is a pleasure and a regular part of my day.

To be honest, I'm genuinely baffled and bewildered. The arguments seem to come down to the fact that he doesn't like seeing novels on the trending page - as if this is going to somehow turn off investors and new readers somehow? But I had to point out that the fiction serial has been a part of periodical publications since Charles Dickens, and even before.

Anyway, I know the flags hurt the pocket-book, but I hope you can take this in the vein of "Ain't no such thing as bad publicity!" and keep up posting here.

Thank you. I'm so pleased you enjoy my writing. That's gratifying enough... the fact that people are also supporting me over this is overwhelming.

I muted the abuser who attacked your posts . I have nothing in me for people like that .

Thank you for your support :)

I will do that in a bit ... when I think I can keep a civil tongue in my head ....

You know you have my support and that of many others here on Steemit. So upvote you I will and deliver a message to @transisto, that what he has done is unacceptable and will damage his reputation more than yours.

Thank you. I appreciate your comments and your support <3

You are welcome.

dear @michelle.gent, i am unable to understand that why you flagged, i always support and appreciated your work. so you need not to worry and hope for the best.

How on earth does this type of strategy ensure the longetivity of Steemit? In a word it doesn't, what's the goal, motivation and who is the target and who is the collateral damage, and who will retaliate, someone will, it's only a matter of time.

There are a lot of loudmouthed jerks on steemit, and there will only be more in the future. Please ignore flags; your reputation is high enough (and deservedly so) that they won't affect you at all.

It’s not the reputation bit. $300+ is what its cost so far. I can’t believe this person was at SteemFest with 300+ people who all want steemit to succeed, to then go round trying to discourage good posts.
I personally wish he/she had done this before SteemFest.

Yes, the financial damage that arbitrary downvotes can cause is not to be taken lightly. Authors like Michelle and myself are not here for the money--we want to find an audience--but having rewards stripped that were earned with honest work could factor in future decisions about contributing to the platform. I, along with a group of other writers and innovators, are looking into the possibility of forming a hybrid, crypto-backed publishing house. But why would we want to recruit authors to this platform if they'll ultimately be punished for posting original content? It's something to think about.

Downvotes don't cost you anything. Posts don't pay out until the voting period is over and all of the votes, up and down, are counted. Presuming upon a payout before the voting is complete is silly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81