Blogging Equality on the Blockchain: Will Quality Ever Trump Early Adoption & Should It?

in #steemit6 years ago

Screenshot (1590).png

On an upcoming episode of the Scorum Community Podcast, @swolesome and I discuss a topic that has come up recently while writing content and networking with other members of the community on both Steemit and Scorum (sports media on the blockchain).

As we all well know, there are many issues on Steemit that have yet to be fixed, from bad whales to bid bots to the native interface. On new blogging platforms on the blockchain, there are bound to be new features and upgrades on the original Steemit model (which hasn't been updated enough), and less issues for users in part because of how new and small it is (problems scale too, right?). While chatting with a fellow user on Scorum, they stated that Scorum, like Steemit, isn't a fair system because those who arrived first have an advantage that trumps quality content and that new users won't be seen.

Although I do see this as a problem on Steemit, I have not seen this become a problem (yet) on Scorum and other early-stage platforms like Trybe. Early adopters do have an advantage because they have more power that they've earned, but good content creators willing to put in hard work still have opportunities to be seen and earn coins.

In nearly any economic system, those with more resources have an advantage. I was early to Scorum and now have 30,000 coins. Does this put me in a better position than someone who is just starting on the platform? Absolutely, just as someone with $1,000,000 in the bank is going to earn more interest than my $1,000 in the bank. But this doesn't prevent me with $1,000 in the bank from working hard and increasing my bank account balance and influence on a system.

What do you think? Will quality ever completely trump early adoption, and should it?

Sort:  

We all know the secret to success: sucking up to whales. By the way, great job by your Spartans Mikey!

Thanks man. Yeah, unfortunately, that is a large part of the game.

I think the key is for content to be so engaging that people are willing to give up their own profits in order to consume it. This happens every day in "regular life". I could put $150 in the bank, invest it in stocks, invest it in crypto... or spend it on a ticket to the Bears game. Investing $150 in crypto may make me rich one day... but buying a ticket to the game will make me happy right now. We need to attract those kind of content producers to these projects. We need people to say "I'd rather encourage this producer to make more content that I like than vote myself some more coins". The only way to do that is for early adopters to forgo some of their immediate profits in order to attract content creators who will help drive up the value of their coin. Sadly way too many people are too short sighted.

I agree, and I also think that those early adopters won't forgo their immediate profits to attract better content creators. As you said, "Sadly way too many people are too short sighted."

As someone early on Scorum I plan to always look out for new folks and find ways to encourage them to create engaging content.

Thanks @hanshotfirst!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01