You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Decline of Play and Rise in Children's Mental Disorders

in #steemit7 years ago

Very interesting post to which I have several comments:

  • There is a correlation of sun light exposure and uplifted mood - less depression when you spend time under (free) sunlight. Another reason for kids to play.
  • Grownups could easily fall in the same category of unhappy at work and happy in weekends. They need play, too.
  • Diet is often overlooked, but has an incredible impact on depression, energy, and ability to focus.
  • Sugar, wheat and dairy, as well as processed foods are a mainstay of the American diet. And many countries are following suit. These foods cause addictive reactions in our body to crave more of the same. It isn't a matter of willpower to resist them, but automatic bodily functions for survival.
  • If we get off that junk food merry-go-round for just a few days, we become much more aware of how much better we feel. Internal decision making, only now, can play a role: Do I want to eat this food which gives me temporary joy, or do I want to eat foods that support my thinking ability, physical capability, mood, and won't make me crave more foods that don't support me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67