Lack of viewers syndrome(with different rewards)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

One of the issues that high quality content creators are facing today (not that I am one of them) on steemit is the term 'lack of viewers syndrome' which is the reason some of them just let it go and stop writing high quality contents.

Source

How to diagnose the syndrome

it happens when you put a lot of effort on a post by trying to create the best you can, sometimes it partially works and you get hundreds of upvotes (and sometimes you don't even get that either), but when you look at the "eye" icon at the bottom of your post(viewers' counter) you start wondering:

“Is it worth it?! Do I need to think on every sentence when I am posting?! Does the topic need to be about something valuable or at least useful?! Does anybody care about quality at all?! Did anyone really go through my post?! etc...”

and here you get to the point that you don't see any reason to continue making posts with high quality, in next step you start to make more and more posts with less and less quality to get the answers of your questions. And finally you cave in by seeing the fact that you are getting same feedback as previous posts. Congratulation! Now you are a victim of “lack of viewers’ syndrome”

how do I address this problem?!


Source
The other day I was thinking with myself:

How can I encourage the viewers to go through my posts, read it carefully and put a related valuable comment?

And I got to this solution(not the best,but what I could come up with) that I might be able to share my posts' success by splitting a portion of the reward between real viewers (something other than curation reward)

How it is managed

I decided to put couple of mistakes(like writing a word that does not make sense in the sentence, writing mistakes like 'to' instead of 'too', etc...)as a little game in my posts.
I will have 5% of the payout as the budget and I will split it between viewers who detect the mistakes.
There is another 2% which will go to the most valuable comment (to encourage viewers to give a valuable feedback). If the post gets a very good attention I will go higher in percentage (I had to go with percentage because sometimes there is no reward for the writer at all and I am the guy who intends to keep his promises).
Note that mistakes are >= 2 and <= 5(as you see I am not a native English speaker, you might find some unintended mistakes too :) ), and for each mistake only one person gets the reward. After 24 hours I am going to edit the post and correct the mistakes (for future viewers) and I am going to announce the winners in comment section.

I know the reward is not that big, but look at it as an effort to save "high quality content creator" and "true curators" species :)

Also feel free to use this method for your own posts(I appreciate it if you mention me too)

If you are interested in this thing at all please upvote-resteem (to get a bigger reward), and follow me at @meysam for future rewards.

By the way to get how it works I put couple of words in this post too, same rules apply.


Source

Let's keep this habit in our community.

Have fun :)
Wed Jan 11 15:16:14 IRST 2017

Sort:  

Was just chiming in on this discussion during the discord meetup. Thanks for sharing these concerns for the continued success of this community.

@jacobts
I know, I wanted to tune in too but something came up and I couldn't make it, later I got in touch with KrNel and got the download link(It was a nice discussion)
thank you too for your attention and feedback , I really appreciate it

Interesting! Worth some thought to boost the viewing figures....it's all about incentives. Then we might add that the reward is proportional to the length of the post and the time the page is open. If you have to leave the post open for a certain period of time to get the reward, you might as well read it, especially if it was something you were interested in or wanted to support anyway!

@benjojo
thank you for your contribution in my game, reading my post and leaving valuable comment
as a thank you I sent you a cut of post's payout(next to nothing but accept it as a gesture ) :)

@benjojo
exactly that is what I am trying to achieve, to get others to read the posts, and encourage valuable content creators by commenting , re-steeming and upvoting their posts.
and also it could be fun too to find some mistakes in a writing .
thanks for your feedback

Very interesting initiative! I found a couple of mistakes: "high quality contents" is incorrect in this context, as the word content is an uncountable singular noun:(https://dictionary.cambridge.org/grammar/british-grammar/content-or-contents ) .
"splitting a portion of reward" _missing article.
"announce the winners hi(what?) in comment(missing article) section.
I hope that was all. Upvoted and resteemed.

as I see my game is working, well done :)
about content(s) I meant the contents that we create in a post(plural)
the other 2 are correct
and there is more in it :)
thank you for your participant in the game, upvoting and re-steeming. gonna send you your portion of the article's reward within 20 hours.

Thank you. There is no plural of content in this context though, as explained in the linked article. The plural is only allowed for physical stuff, as in "the contents of the box" but for abstract content as in an article, there is no plural.

@kooshikoo
thank you for your contribution in my game, reading my post correcting the mistakes
as a thank you I sent you a cut of post's payout(next to nothing but accept it as a gesture )

Just physical? I didn't know that, one of the unintended mistakes I was talking about :)
Thanks

I am commenting with eSteem on android at the moment because once again some issue with latency on the keyboard. I don't think the counts are blockchain counted, only steemit.com. Blockchain access counts would be more complicated and controversial to implement. I don't even look at the number. Comments say more about engagement.

I get your point,but I think if viewers read the the posts with concentration, it will increase the chance of getting viewers to engage in comment section. that is what I intend to do, to encourage viewers to think about the content, sentences and words, and by that they probably will find something good enough to put a comment about.
after all this is my theory and it might does not work at all :)
thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience .

@l0k1
thank you for your contribution in my game, reading my post and leaving valuable comment which I appreciate a lot
as a thank you and as I promised I sent you a cut of post's payout(next to nothing but accept it as a gesture )

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27