Steemit is one hot jumbled mess...

in #steemit7 years ago

Welcome to Steemit, just put your blog post wherever!


.
I've come to realize that what gets me down about using steemit is twofold:

  1. The tags process sucks. Yup, I said that. It sucks. If you're able to tag something into five categories then you have a lot of overlapping ideas within your content, right? Hell, no! We have some creative taggers up in here is all. I fail to see the correlation between many tags used on some posts and the content you read within them. How does your Mam-maws spaghetti recipe qualify as news?! Just because you know I don't know the secret recipe, doesn't really make it "news", ya' know?

  2. Not feeling the old-school everybody's-logged-in-on-a-full chat-room speed with which posts are pushed down in a given tag by the junk that shouldn't be in that tag. If you actually go through the site to try to search out or read content, you'll know what I'm talking about in short order. Don't try to go to your profile because of a notification and then navigate back to the post you were reading. Nope, that bus already left. If you still want to read that post you better use that back button, baby!

That's my rant of the hour. Stay posted for the next one as Steemit continues to give me a headache from hell!

Sort:  

I've read a a lot of articles from folks who have been on Steemit for a long time, and they have seen a lot of changes on Steemit. Since it is still in Beta, I'm sure things will only get better. :) Maybe your wishes will be granted one day. Chin up! :)

Exercise patience @metanoia, Steemit is a new platform and just like every other platform including Reddit, Twitter and Facebook, it will take time to separate junk from real content.
Besides it is a community network based on rating and demands; if people love the junk contents, then they will get it.

When I read your reply I swear I heard Yoda in my mind's speaking voice change the first part to read, "Exercise patience, you must, young metanoia...", lol. Thanks for the encouragement!

The tagging thing is annoying for sure

Yeah, undoubtedly so. I get a bunch of junk in my searches every time I try to use that bar. Even when you click the tags you get things that aren't in that tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67