You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is Better than Facebook?

in #steemit6 years ago

Very thought-provoking. I hope one of our resident lawyers eventually does a full analysis of this stuff for us. I'd be interested in knowing if the Steemit, Inc. people intend to support free speech long term, or just while they're still small enough to care.

Sort:  

Yes, and there are two things we can talk about in these regards, first, the company like you said, Steemit Inc., and other companies too, including Busy.org, and then, second, there is the decentralized blockchain system which uses cryptography, technology, like Bitcoin in some ways. So, decentralized systems are better than centralized systems.

Back in the fall of 2015, the American government was asking for like a back door into Apple for alleged security purposes, or something like that, or it might be that Apple already has back doors all in the name of keeping people safe at the cost of privacy violations. We all know that Facebook censors. So, they have their back door, their way into our stuff. They shadow ban people. They censor. They terminate accounts. Google and others do these things.

So, I wonder if Steemit Inc. has a back door into the Steem blockchain system or not. After reading the TOS and PP, it does not seem that they do. It seems that blockchain code for Steemit does not allow for back doors. For example, after 7 days, this comment cannot be edited or removed by me or by Steemit Inc. (the company). The company could maybe remove this comment if the USA DOJ tells the company to because of DMCA maybe, as in copyright claims or whatever. So, then, the comment would be blocked (MUTED, HIDDEN) off http://Steemit.com but not the blockchain itself meaning this comment could still appear maybe on http://Busy.org or other applications of Steem. I think that is how it works or that is what @Ned said maybe in some videos. The company seems to be trying to follow U.S. and E.U. laws and does not seem to be seeking to take down unsafe content like Facebook does. Well, I may not like unsafe stuff. But who decides what is safe and what is not safe? Facebook said that Diamond & Silk were not safe. But they are safe. I love those 2 black women.

It's like the backdoors they build into our electronics. It never ceases to amaze me how much spying we put up with. Even my own kids have got this "Alexa" thing they BUY to spy on them. Geesh...

How do we stop backdoors? Well, a better question might be, how do we keep backdoors accountable, responsible, in-check? Blockchain does offer transparency. Steemit, for example, has some of that. Alexa spies. Facebook, Google, etc, spies. Yes, many things spy. For my operating system, I'm using Ubuntu Mate, which is of Linux. So, Apple and Microsoft operating systems spy, but Linux, maybe not at all or maybe not as much. I have never heard of Ubuntu spying. We can try our best. So, I try my best. Things may not always be perfect. Maybe, Linux has some problems. But as far as I know, it is a step towards the right direction. Like Trump and Rocket Man Kim. Maybe not perfect, but a step in the right direction.

Very well said!

I got this TOS box again today.

Yea...me too.

So, maybe if the box pops up for me and for you, today, maybe, we might assume that we are not the only ones. I wrote a new article about it today on Steemit, that I got the prompt today and Tuesday. So, it might just be a thing Steemit is doing to make sure everybody reads them to know the rules, the terms, the policies, and everything. I'm hoping I'm not in contempt. I hope I am not breaking rules or something. So, maybe I'm not, unless if we both are breaking rules. But I hope not.

I would think we'd be contacted more directly if we were.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44