You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vegan, almost 2 years now.

in #steemit5 years ago

Wow! Great job. I aim to go fully vegan before I'm 20 (which will be the day after your 3 years vegan)

I have been a vegetarian for 6 1/2 years and in the past struggled with going vegan. My past excuses were:
Limited options at school - I've graduated now.
I lost too much weight due to a combination of things - but now I'm trying to lose a couple pounds.
Cravings for cheese/other dairy products - this one I'll still struggle with tbh, but more places have more options. I've tried daiya and tofutti (and of course, vegan milks) and I prefer it at home, but it's a struggle while out to eat. But places are adding more and more vegan options, and based on what I know cravings go away the longer you about it. Also vegan ice cream is made by so many more brands, and it's so yummy!

I also already use cruelty free & vegan products like makeup, skin care, shampoo, etc. So I don't have to make a switch in that way.

Thank you for sharing your experience with veganism,and hopefully motivating others (myself included) to try it out! 2 years vegan saves hundreds of animals, and even more of an incredible impact on the environment. I was shocked to see how much water I save as a vegetarian, vegans save much more. Great post, and may many more years of veganism follow!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words and comment, I can totally relate to you on the cheese. The more processed and fatty the food, the more it was associated with addictive eating behaviors. Cheese happens to be especially addictive because of an ingredient called casein, a protein found in all milk products. During digestion, casein releases opiates called casomorphins. The reason its there is so the newborn develops a close bond in order to prevent the young from getting lost from the herd.

Then in later research I found that our bodies are able to kick a habit if we are constant for a period of 22days. Hence the 22day vegan challenge (challenge 22 on Facebook)

So once I understood all my findings, I decided to put myself to the test.

You're right about it being difficult to find options when eating out. This is where I'd practice my organisation skills and plan everything ahead of time or I carry a bunch of high energy vegan snacks. Or a bag of mixed nuts and seeds.
Again id like to thank you for your comment and I wish you all the best in your transition. You're going to fine, if you ever need anything, feel free to reach out anytime. Try and find some vegans on social media you can relate to and get the information you need to help you through the first 3 months, after that, if you're anything like me, you'll be amazing! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48