Has YouTube Abandoned You and Left You Penny-less With Their Recent Changes? You Have Other Options.

in #steemit6 years ago

Has YouTube Left You Stranded_ (1).jpg

Your time is money. For all you content creators who have smaller YouTube channels (less than 1000 subscribers) hoping to monetize your videos to earn a few dollars but YouTube swooped in and put the screws to your channel because you didn't have 1000 subscribers or 4000 hours of viewing time...read on. There are other platforms out there similar to YouTube, Facebook, Instagram etc. and I've been trying some of them out. Here is my honest review and you might be surprised by the results. I know I was but I think I'll be sticking around the Blockchain for awhile. Continue reading...

Recently I've been curious about other ways to make money on the Internet. With all the garbage going on with YouTube crushing the little channels who are trying to make a dollar or 2, I decided to look elsewhere for other opportunities and that's when I stumbled into Bitcoin but specifically the Blockchain. (Full disclosure: I have a YouTube channel with almost 13k subscribers but I witnessed many of my friends get screwed over and it pissed me off.)

At first, I was baffled and confused but when I started looking more into the Blockchain, I started to see that there are other platforms out there similar to facebook, Steemit, YouTube DTube, YouTube Live DLive, Instagram Steepshot and so on. All of which use the Blockchain which is like an open ledger and fully transparent to anyone. In fact, you can see my account balance right now by looking at my Steemit account. Do you need to invest any money to get started? Nope. In fact, I've been using Steemit, Dtube, and Steepshot now for over 2 months and my account has grown to over $200 (on some days) and all I've invested is $40 just to see if I could make a transaction to purchase Steem (the crypto currency) and I could!

Getting my account set up took a little time and I'll admit was a little frustrating. You will need to get a Steemit account first which can take up to 3 weeks to get approved. Once you get your account don't rush into posting right away take some time and look up articles on how to do your first post on Steemit. Its called your #introduceyourself post and you want to do it right and hopefully get the attention of the "Whales". Whales hold the most influence and value on the platform. In addition, they could throw some Steem your way and who wouldn't like that? Your goal is not to get as many views as possible but getting other Steemians to up-vote your content and when they do you'll make a little bit of Steem and you should do the same in return to other Steemians who post content that you enjoy. Its a really cool community thing so embrace it.

Starting out, your influence score on the Steemit platform will be small at just 25 but overtime and if you create good content, your influence will grow. After a couple of months I've been able to raise my score to 55. Hopefully, your followers will grow and so should your wallet. I personally haven't made a lot of crypto on Steemit. However, one of my goals has always been to become a better writer and the process of writing and curating content on Steemit has certainly helped me get better (at least I hope so) but I'm sure that's probably debatable.

Currently, I'm making the most Steem off of DTube. I like creating videos and uploading them to both YouTube and DTube. Typically, I'll upload my videos to DTube first and let them run for 3-5 days before I upload them to YouTube. You can't forget about your subscribers on YouTube! Plus, most of my subscribers just aren't ready for something new like DTube but some are giving it a try or at least viewing my videos on DTube! Either way, I don't mind uploading to 2 similar platforms. They both have their pluses and minus so it all balances out. You can still earn a little ad revenue on YouTube these days but nothing like you used to. Luckily, I've managed to capture the attention of a Whale on DTube and he/she has been up-voting my videos and throwing anywhere from $20-50 Steem my way. I am very grateful thanks again for all the support @DTube . Have I made that much crypto on all of my videos? The answer is absolutely not. But from the 15 videos I have uploaded to DTube, 10 have made $20 or more. If you don't believe me take a look at my account on DTube. Compare those numbers to what I made last month on YouTube which was around $20 for the entire month. Which platform is the better deal? I think its pretty obvious.

I guess all I'm trying to say is why not give other platforms a look? We get so wrapped around the big platforms and they don't pay out anything so what do you have to lose? When was the last time you made any money from posting a photo to Facebook or got paid something for curating content on someone else's post? On these other Steem platforms, at least you have chance to make something in return for your time and energy and that's why I'm giving them a chance. Will it all come crashing down in the future? Is crypto here to stay? I don't know, I'm not dumping my retirement into it so who cares? Besides, I'm learning a lot about crypto, having fun doing it, and making some crypto at the same time so why not?

Hopefully I didn't bore you to death. I'm trying to convince some of my friends and channel owners to come on over and try some of these other platforms. I've had a few ups and downs starting out but my overall experience has been positive.

In closing, I want to give a shout out to all my followers here on Steemit but a big shout out to @captainbob and @westcountyclegg for all their help and encouragement. This has been a really fun experience. Thanks guys!

Thanks for your time and I look forward to any comments.

If you like my post please consider giving me an up-vote and following me @mentalmetal314.

Join me over on my MentalMetal Channel on DTube.
Check out my MentalMetal Channel on Y ouTube.

Sort:  

Cheers my luver!
Your right about it being frustrating, I put up a video last night that was rubbish and I got upvoted. DTube is impossible to understand.

I think you are over thinking it LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71