An Attempt at the First SE-Asian Steemit Meetup - Hosted By Techfest @ Angkorhub

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Are You Based in South-East Asia?

I'm officially inviting all Steemers to the first ever Techfest in Siem Reap. Hosted by @theflame at the Angkorhub coworking space.
For more info on Jeff and Angkorhub, check out his story here.

The event is completely free, you can reserve a spot here https://www.eventbrite.hk/e/tech-fest-day-1-tickets-26798098835

On Saturday 13th of August, the Angkorhub will become a haven for tech talks and networking.
Subjects such as :

  • Reactive Programming
  • Meteor JS
  • BigData
  • Blockchain
  • Raspberry Pi programming
  • Steemit!

The host, Steemit's @theflame, has asked me to give a presentation on Steemit and Steem, so I'll be showing the how, what, and why of the platform and the currency. And why it has the potential to revolutionize social media and they way we look at money in general.

Since there is plenty of interest within our small community of techheads here in Siem Reap, I took the opportunity to hijack this great event and turn it into South-east Asia's first Steemit meetup.

We have between 5-10 Steem users and crypto-enthusiasts who are ready to rock up.

The event is being held in Siem Reap, Cambodia.
We have an international airport here and you can easily find cheap flights from and to every major Asian city. Here are some average flight times and prices for a few major hubs in SE-Asia:

Bangkok: 45 minutes - Average price is between $50 and $150
Hanoi: 1h 30 minutes - Average price between $90 and $180
Singapore: 2h 15 minutes - Average price between $70 and $200
Kuala Lumpur: 2h - Average price between $60 and $180

Some airlines to consider are Airasia, Vietnam airlines, and ThaiSmile.

Why Am I Doing This?

In a region strife with corruption and censored media, steemit could become a life-changing platform for everyday people. I will try to enlighten the people who are attending the tech fest, in the hope that they will spread the word around to their friends and families. Creating a viral snowball effect across the region.

If this event proves successful, I have plans to expand it to different cities in SE-Asia.
Bangkok, Phnom Penh, Danang, and Saigon spring to mind.

So if you're in South-East Asia, hop on a plane or bus and come to Siem Reap. Home to the famous Angkor temple complex, the infamous 'pub street', and the first ever SE-Asian Steemit meetup!

We will be giving away some Steemit tshirts that are being printed as we speak. And we will try to live stream the event to Steemit (although internet and electricity cuts might decide otherwise). We'll definitely be recording everything and uploading it after the event.

So join us for a day (and night!) of tech talks, steem chats, chilling out, and partying with like-minded people. Let me know in the comments what you think of this initiative, and if you're coming over.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully see you soon!

Jan Schets

EDIT:
Here's a list of the current steemit that I'll be dragging over to the event kicking and screaming:
@amy-goodrich @jbones @graphotism @chrisjohnhurst @theflame @faddat

Sort:  

Oh wow. I want to go so badly. unfortunately I am traveling to the Netherlands today. The whole year I was in Cambodia, and now you have to pick this date for a meet up. Arrgh..

Ah man, that's a shame!
You coming back any time soon? Our aim is to have a few of these meetups and presentations in the coming months!

I will be back mid of September. If there's any meetups then, I'll definitely join. :)

Excellent! I'd love to visit the event as well. Unfortunately, I will not be in Cambodia during that time. Tech and Steemit meetups like these show that Cambodia, an undeveloped nation, is moving forward. That makes me happy :)

I've got plans for a few more in the near future!

Let me know, I had no idea this happened today until a friend told me. Next time, Phnom Penh though ...

Absolutely! We'll make it happen

Great initiative! Siem Reap is a wonderful place too.

Thanks @ned, appreciate the support.
And I concur, Siem Reap is an amazing place!

i haven't been to Siem reap, heard is really beautiful too. Are you and @dan going to any meetups or other events? I think a lot people would like to meet you in person.

please have a look at this post, i think its interesting content, as its posted the first time in the world to any social media platform
https://steemit.com/food/@knozaki2015/britafilters-hacked-read-the-whole-hacking-story-steemit-exclusive

thanks!

Cheers from Phnom Penh. Will do my best to get up there. Here is my first Steemit post from today :) https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@coincambodia/hello-steemit-from-cambodia-s-bitcoin-themed-restaurant-in-phnom-penh-coin-cafe

Nice, hope to see you there!

Hope to see you there as well :)

This is great! I am from Singapore but too bad that i am currently based in China. Siem Reap is an interesting city, full of culture and ancient artefacts in AngKor Wat

Too bad you can't come over! We'll definitely be doing more of these events across the region. I hope to do one in Hong Kong as well!

Have fun guys

Best of luck with this. Sad that you haven't had more attention for it.

Yep this is a bit disheartening.
Not even enough to cover the expenses I made for tshirts and promotion material.

There is still time. Try reposting it.

Very interested post @menta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45