Are The Facebook Police Patrolling Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Today is my first day on Steemit. Let me start off by saying, I was very excited to begin a life of posting articles which I thought would be free from the Facebook police. I posted two short articles just to test the waters and  get my feet wet. First article, one upvote besides my own. Alright, so it doesn't look like I will be paying off my Navigator anytime soon. I then decided to post another article, shortly after is when my excitement turned into disappointment. At first all was well, two upvotes besides my own and a penny in the account, DAMN I'M ON MY WAY!!! Then a message, I opened it with a great expectancy, "someone is wanting to tell me how my article touched their very being and has given them reason to live". OK, maybe I was expecting too much but I was at least hoping for a debate or just a simple "atta boy". What I got was a message concerning the content of my post. This message was from someone going by the moniker of "cheetah", along with the message there was a link to a page with similar content, the message from cheetah read:

"Hi! I am a content-detection robot. This post is to help manual curators; I have NOT flagged you"
The message informed me of similar content which could be found on another page. I clicked on the link and to my dismay it lead me to a Facebook Page concerning Confederate History. Yes, my article concerned The Confederacy, so yes there would be similar content on this page, especially since they have posted my articles in the past! Needless to say I was pissed, this warning message would be akin to someone posting about sex with college interns and being told similar content can be found on The Clinton Library Website? Say someone posted on proper voicemail etiquette are they going to receive a message which says similar content can be found on Bill O'Reilly's Facebook page?

Of course similar content is going to found at a variety of sources. My post will usually concern; the fiction of Government, Voluntaryism, The Constitutional Convention in 1788 or The History of The Confederacy. As far as I know I am not the only one out there writing on these topics. So, I must ask some of you Steemit professionals, is this type of occurrence commonplace or has Facebook outfitted me with an internet ankle-bracelet? Hopefully this is just one of those out of the ordinary happenings; however, when a person who is constantly harassed by The Facebook Police receives this type of message on a completely different social media platform it causes him to duct-tape aluminum foil to his windows and start eating lead paint chips.

Oh and if anyone is reading this an upvote would be greatly appreciated, I only need 20,000.00 to pay off the navigator, any overflow will be put towards a shit load of flowers for my wife and a tube of that KY Touch, I have really been wanting to try that stuff!!


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Sorry about that but like many sites there is a problem with identity theft, plagerism, and other bad behavior. Cheetah is a bot used to help recognize this so others like me can manually verify that a person isn't trying to steal another's work.

One of the ways that we verify a user is genuine is to have them link a post on facebook for example to steemit. I found your facebook post and will post a cropped image. I think it's up to you to share your link if you wish although it's not hard to find.

You can also ask to be whitelisted by cheetah to avoid the comment in the future. You'll find him on steemit.chat in #steemitabuse-classic.

Facebook posting verifying identity. I cropped it, it's up to menewa if he wishes to share.

2016-08-10_19-23-3359085.png

So let me get this straight. You want to be up voted for complaining about a mild, non-intrusive attempt at controlling plagiarism which has been plaguing our platform?

"This post is to help manual curators," it said
How were you harmed ?

Apparently I missed. The post was meant to be a humorous ATTEMPT at poking fun at how the Facebook police seem to be everywhere as well as how FB seems to be woven into every social media platform in existence. I was hoping to cloak my question within a realm of jocularity and keep things light. As stated, I guess I missed, my wife says, half of the time I am the only one who thinks I'm funny, apparently she's right.

We have a tag for that.. #funny. :P You're not the only one that is misunderstood. Too bad real life conversation doesn't come with tags.

P.S. Don't feel the need to upvote every comment.. this isn't Facebook! Search around and you'll find some good guides. Check out posts by @donkeypong.

Hope I was #funny.

Thanks, I'm learning! I'm sure this won't be my last #mistake. I appreciate the feedback, it helps!

Congratulations @menewa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70