Whales and Dolphins! STEEMIT MUST ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM

in #steemit8 years ago

I am new to Steemit, and I want to say hi. Before I am fully vested in this community I think I want something addressed.

I've been thinking alot about the whales, dolphins and minnows problem.

One of the reasons I left Reddit, is because I felt like the community was dismissive of alternative opinions, and the community quickly developed into a group of individuals who fit the "redditor meme". All the content was similar, and the front page rarely saw alternative content.

That is my fear with Steemit. A small minority of individuals hold most of the power, and people who recently joined like me feel relatively powerless. On top of that, I am afraid that those individuals who hold most of the power hold a distinct set of tastes that will turn Steemit into a platform that creates "typical Steemitors" and only content that is popular with the whales will see the light of day.

DONT GET ME WRONG
The whales deserve the extra voting power. As early adopters and believers in Steemit, they should weild a mighty force. I guess I am just wondering how the Steemit community plans to address this, and how we can ensure we don't turn into a stale community like reddit. One of the things I love about 4chan is that no one gets more power and you can post anything you want. The things you see first are the things that were most recently active. (Obviously 4chan is not a community that Steemit wants to emulate, but you get the point)

Whales have a vested interest to address this too! Steemit only becomes valuable the higher user base it has, and people need to feel meaningful to join a community.

Any plans for steemit to address this? How can we ensure topics or ideas we don't agree with are not excluded? I would love to discuss this!!!

(I am reposting this for visibility, want some big players to discuss this problem)

Sort:  

Keep up the great work @mememagicisreal!

Very well said. I agree they shouldnt lose their power but other should have more influence.

Votes should all be equal. Otherwise, it's not decentralized.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66