You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you really want to EARN rewards?

in #steemit6 years ago

At this post too, you will receive ironically some spam with Nice, yhis is a good article and stuff like that.

Unfortunately the way that Steem is made to award content creators, no matter that they are writing articles or comments, makes it a wild west of spammers who are looking for an upvote on blogs of guys like you with lots of Steem Power. Taking into consideration that your posts receive an average of 65 - 70 comments, I can say that I completely understand and it is legit for you to flag the spam comments in order to discourage this behavior.

As you said, your time is in the game and you won't like to lose it scrolling through unvaluable comments in order to litter this place. What can I admit is that I appreciate so much that by now I have received a few upvotes from you on my comments. Reading your article makes me think that you found them good and as a main commenter it is nice to see people appreciating your work so I have to say just one more thing: Thank you!

Sort:  

There is nothing worse than clutter in my opinion. I hate it. And it's worse on the most popular posts (not referring to mine in this case) where I know there are valuable comments to be found, but I don't have the time to sift through the junk, so I miss them. If it's a really important post by someone really respected on an important subject, I'll "speed read" the comment to try and quickly catch what's important, and while I usually come up with something when doing that, what I always reaffirm is my conviction that the majority is complete junk. That's one of the reasons why I'm doing what I'm doing. I don't want my threads to be like that. Hopefully more people will consider doing the same. As was said above, it takes a lot of time, but if you're blogging to begin with . . .

You know, one thing that I found pretty original and healthy in your blogging behaviour is that you first post an article, then let people comment for a while and at the end you come and pick the good comments from the bad ones and reply to them so you let people enough time to write comments without the fear of getting unnoticed. I think this is a good step into encouraging people not to spam because they have enough time to actually write good comments. Very few authors check their replies after a couple of hours so I find this to be a very good example, hope it will work without the need of spreading some flags :)

You're definitely right about there being no need at all to be in a hurry to comment on my posts. Absolutely none! And as you say, it's intentional on my part precisely so that not only everyone has an equal opportunity to contribute, but so that there is also the possibility of doing some "final packaging" before things are forever embedded into the blockchain. I think it's also the best way to try and create dynamic conversations where others are brought into the "sub-threads" of the thread. 🙂

I guess it would be very healthy if you would introduce a note about this in your future articles, maybe even as a footer:

Don't hurry to comment, I will read all of your comments later and vote that one which are worth visibility. And don't spam, I got flags too :)

Or something like this, I guess it will boost a bit the quality of the comments. Of course you should know better what approach you want to use, I am trying to offer some helpful advice :D

Good idea for something I could add to my signature line!

Yep, you will just have to find a nice way to say it, or even let there a link to this article, it would be awesome and have enough information for somebody who is interested in your opinion about this. And this article will become pretty popular also :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49