You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why are we able to vote for ourselves on Steemit??

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When you are submitting a post, the upvote post box is checked by default as seen in the screen capture below (bottom right corner)

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 4.11.06 PM.png

Back to the topic: I am for the idea of removing the upvote button on your own posts. It would be more interesting to see those votes being distributed to other posts that are relevant to you and think they hold value.

Sort:  

Then there is the argument that you should be able to value your own created content, abusing is not good, but biggest part of Steem community creates content that they consider valuable, and this takes time and energy. To upvote yourself just means getting small boost for the work you do.

“The Best for the Group comes when everyone in the group does what's best for himself and the group.”

― John Nash

You might have a point also.

The thing is I still have my 10 votes and I use only one on myself, I don't post more than one post in two or three days, all my other votes go for others, so I am contributing and just taking a small profit from my votes, because I do spend time in creating my content and I don't run around and ask for followers, it is just nice to put my stuff out there and get a little something out of it even if I know I am not going to get huge profits from my posts and my small follower base.

Great quote by the way!

That's a fair approach!

We are still relatively small in the platform with close to no influence so I understand that yes it would be fair to help ourselves. It would be tougher to find an excuse for more influential steemers to do so. Actually, it would be against the principle laid out in the quote (the best for themselves would be to spend their upvotes on others).

But again, it completely depends, yes, if the steemer is using all his power or most of his power on himself it is not benefiting anybody , but this one person, promoting one of his posts though doesn't seem so wrong if he actually created quality content. What is ten dollars if you spent three hours creating your content? If it actually benefits others or if you had to spend money for a camera or any other gear to create the content. It depends on what you give and there are always going to be selfish people, but I like to think that the kinder ones will weed out the bad ones.

Definitely, on the long run it will all balances itself out. Good point!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64