You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Less Talked About Cost of the Vote Buying Bots

in #steemit6 years ago

I was thinking similar the other day when I was looking back at a very old post of mine. It got bit by a couple of whales then a swarm and made quite a big payout. I had a smile which quickly faded away as I realised that that doesn't happen anymore, for anyone. Worse still for newbies as well as it has taken the excitement hit out of it.

Sort:  

Worse still for newbies as well as it has taken the excitement hit out of it.

But...get this...

Any noob who joins can now spend hundreds of Steem Dollars to get on a trending page that nobody actually reads!!!

How fun is that?!?!

Good luck explaining that the bot owners. The general consensus is that the bots are an advertising tool that you use to gain new followers and supporters. But I just have such a hard time believing that botting gains you new support to any meaningful degree.

Of course, I'd need to test it out first - which I might.

But my theory is that as soon as you stop buying the votes, you go back to making nothing. It's not like the large stakeholders curate the trending page anyway. So, it's not like putting yourself up there gets you seen by a whale who then starts following you.

That's a pipe dream.

That is spot on, I have seen people who use the bots great the water by putting out a post with no bid-bots on it. It tanks and then they have to boost it up.

The few People with sp who are willing to vote on things usually avoid the vote buyers.

I do think you should test it out!

But I'd risk losing the few supporters that I still have who I would venture to guess are anti-bid bot.

new account

;0)

I guess, but I'd like to promote this account, in particular.

The few People with sp who are willing to vote on things usually avoid the vote buyers.

Yeah, I was in that camp. I wouldn’t upvote posts that used bid bots. And I would never dream of “curating” the trending page. If you’re on that these days, you’re most likely getting downvoted, actually.

That’s how I roll.

A little counter-intuitive, considering you delegated your SP to a bid bot.

Well, people change...especially when their valid criticisms of a shitty system are continually ignored. And since very few people care anyway, it seems that we can just do whatever we want without consequence.

Fuck integrity. I tried that. Didn’t work.

Now I’ll just do what I want to do and not care if the platform fails due to greed, ignorance, and incompetence. I’ll build my network and if Steem proves to not be able to keep up, I’ll move on. But its future really isn’t in my hands. It’s currently in the hands of social and economic illiterates.

I understand this but at the same time I got to say it is sad. I guess we watched the death of the site.

I think that's how most roll now!

We should promote that more. Somehow!

That is awesome!! There is always a silver lining!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78