Account Recovery - The Window Shortens, Get on it!!!

in #steemit8 years ago

For the love of God, if you get a pop up about Account Recovery on your Wallet Page then DO IT!!!

There I was, for the first time since joining I thought I would join the crypto revolution and withdraw some steem dollars.

I went to the wallet page and everything seemed to be tickety boo until I clicked the send button. The page asked me to sign using my owner key which I happily did. After this though a popup was displayed advising me.

WARNING: Your password permissions were reduced 3 weeks ago, If this was you then fine but if not then please follow the below link for account recovery

When I had first joined I had no cash except that tiny sign up fee of a few SBD. The day later the hack happened. I didn't give a hoot about that as I had no real money to hack. Being a bit of an idiot I also assumed that my password was unhackable as you do.

Now a few weeks later with a couple of successful articles under my belt I had some steem dollah waiting to be withdrawn for beer tokens. and it had been sitting there whilst some sly hacker had my account details!!!

Thankfully nothing untoward had happened as the hackers obviously saw I had nothing of worth in my account at the time but heck, if they had popped back they could have had my small pot of steem dollah.

I have now went through the recovery process and it was almost instant and painless. So hopefully my little pot of SBD is safe now. Today a small amount is winging its way to me via many seemingly convoluted channels which I hope to thoroughly invest in beer.

The reason I am writing this post is simply to say, guys if you have any doubt about your account and see any kind of warning on your wallet page then do the recovery NOW there is a time boxed window on how long you have. Last night it said the window closes in two weeks so DO IT!!

Anyway, much love fellow steemers, be safe!!!

Sort:  

Can you tell me what the best how to backup my password ?

Some people like to use online password lockers, I have always worried that these could be hacked. I style mine as a text file and input it to my non online tablet where it is quite safe... Hopefully!

I will have to check mine!!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.1 and reading ease of 79%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40