Is it true that people can only upvote for 7 days?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I see people here and there mentioning the 7 day mark quite often.

Are they saying I can only earn on my posts for 7 days and then that's it?

I am new to steemit but love it so far, any help would be appreciated as I learn the system.

Sort:  

Yeah it sucks, but it makes sense if you think about it. There is a finite amount of Steem Dollars and Steem Power that can be generated every hour. If everyone's posts could earn money indefinitely, then the new coin supply would be stretched infinitely thin, and there would be vanishingly little incentive to create new content.

I've been trying to understand the 7 day limit and why it's there. In the end content is worth $0 with 0 upvotes. So why does the amount of content that can be upvoted matter? Isn't it the number of upvotes that matters?

I just see it as a function of an already over-complicated rewards scheme -- one that only favors new content at the expense of quality long-term content.

You got it! Yeah its a 7 day window. And on the 7th day, you get that posts rewards. Oh also for the last 12 hours before payout day on the 7th day you cant upvote, so its like 6 and a half days really.
Also I will follow you, and upvote and resteem this, I think its a great question, more people need to know for sure!

Oh I see. I'll be honest I'm a little disappointed. I like the idea of earning indefinitely. This way it's kind of like an author only able to earn during the book release and then never again.

But thank you for your response and help straightening me out! I still love the platform and will continue to use it.

I feel ya, but if you post and comment on peoples posts every day, you have daily payouts that way. So it makes people work for it, like you have to be active every day, then every day will be a payout that way. Plus if you power down on the regular, you get that nice fat steem every 7 days also.

That's actually kind of hilarious lol

beep :)

So can I repost old posts after some time has passed? Like maybe a month?

In other words plagiarize myself?

No, you can't, @meatspoon Most of the voting gets done in the first 7 days anyways. I was a little bummed when I first learned this, but, it really does work itself out. :). They have a good and fair system, and there are really good people on here.

Concuerdo contigo pana :D

interesting... upvoted and followed account would love a follow back :) while we can haha

There is zero reason to post your best stuff here and only here. In fact, that would be a big mistake. Especially longer posts on lesser known topics ... those take time for people to discover and appreciate.

For me, the 7 day limit forced me to reconsider a project I was planning on Steemit. There are better options financially (outside Steemit) that allow for the possibility of residual income after 7 days. As far as this project goes, Steemit will be a place to recycle the project's old content to give it a second life.

I only recently learned about all this and posted 7 Days to $0: Those Worthless Old Steemit Posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64