Welcome to Steemland!

in #steemit7 years ago

A little bit of a background

So what was Steemit for me?
Well, when @creutzy kinda of 'forced' me to join last May, Steemit for me was nothing. I had no idea what a cryptocurrency is (no, not even bitcoin), I thought ok whatever, just another social media of sorts, and actually I don't have time for that. That was my first reaction.

Proficient user of twitter, facebook, instagram, pinterest and my personal wordpress blog already, I was like 'yeah, so?' and very suspicious and skeptical about this whole new world opening in front of me. I didn't know at the time, that this was the future... But I'll leave the rest of this conversation for my next post - now I would just like to explain to people, followers or not, newbies or not, what is Steemit for me at this very moment.

What is Steemit for me now?

Steemit for me is a platform - which includes everything I currently like. Yes, I got into cryptocurrencies pretty fast, I own several altcoins (some not even on bittrex yet - I took it that far...) and I'm interested into this new turn of events! I'm still very new, and I'm learning as much and as fast as I can, but it is already very fascinating for me!

Now, the social media part - or, more correctly the blogging part! Steemit helps me express myself, and relax. I post here about everything I do: Photography, writing, translating, painting... I left singing out for now, since I'm not much of a video person, but maybe I should post something soon! Whenever I write a post lately, including now, I feel so free, so calm - it works like therapy or meditation for me! We talked about it with a fellow Steemian, and we both agreed that it even helps with depression. -no,seriously !

Steemit after SteemFest

I was blogging, everything was going smoothly, until I kinda felt I'm getting bored and I'll soon find something else to kill my time. And then...SteemFest happened and everything became SO real! When your virtual reality becomes reality then you re-consider the way you think and you were treating your future, yourself and others and that's what happened when those random 'users' of this platform, became people who we had dinner together. I see Steemit completely differently now and it is thanks to SteemFest!!!

Not just about the money

Unfortunately I know quite a few people in this platform who are all about a money. This is one thing I never was in my life. Maybe because I always had the basics so I never felt the need to beg. Maybe because I'm ethical (Theology school you see...haha!). Or maybe because that's how I think about money, for some reason. I'm not saying I'm not enjoying money - I do! Who doesn't? But my purpose in here, is not the money, per se. That's just a happy consequence that I'm willing to enjoy. I am here because I feel like there is a bigger purpose behind this whole thing, besides 'getting rich'. I feel I can realize all the projects I ever had in mind. Meeting so many different and interesting people at the SteemFest makes me want to be more creative - even though I am very already! Steemit simply broadens the mind in so many different ways that it's hard to explain. This is not just a blog, or just yet another social media, this is real!

My Steemland ## - name credit: @creutzy

We were talking with @creutzy today about how cool it would be to live in Steemland - a country where you pay with Steem, the only social media is Steemit, everyone is a Steemian, and there are many languages, cultures and religions. A soft version of globalization but using only the good parts of such. I think he even mentioned Steemit Passport haha! :D But yeah. I know it might sound silly or impossible, but such a possibility would be amazing - who need a dying world when having a possible, better world in hand?
Ok, most of this is a fairy tale and not really literal, but you get my metaphor and my point - I hope. In a world where everything is hard, why wouldn't someone get lost in a perfect half virtual half real world? I love this option!!!

Wanna make Steemland a reality? Tell me your ideas about it - and yes, short stories count ;)

That's it for now! I will come back with more technical stuff even though I am generally and anti-tech person and still new here so I'd better say less than planned so I don't blow it hahaha!
Enjoy and don't forget to smile!

Shop window at LX Factory in Lisbon. Well, how true! Let Steem get in!!!

Sort:  

As much as I love Steemit, it being the only social media in a fully globalised world would be awful. There's a saying : "Power corrupts, absolute power corrupt absolutely". I, for one, want a free world, not a homogenous one. This being said, I want Steemit to grow, precisely because this market is too dominated by giants such as Facebook an Google.

But it would be the free-est world. Maybe I didn't describe it correctly, 'cause I'm still emotional and in SteemFest mode ;)

Read that proverb again. If it did dominate, it wouldn't be the same Steemit you know. It would move to regulate everything. All companies started small with an actual freeing product, and when they get too big they vie to control what they gained. I don't think anyone is immune to this. This includes Steemit owners. And even if they are, there's an asshole right behind them to take advantage of compassion

Not sure about that,but since history repeats itself

Exactly, it does. That's why centrlising any sort of power is always a mistake in the long run.

I like the sound of Steemland :) Never say never. You've planted the seed now let it grow, theres enough freethinkers on this platform to make it happen :)

Who needs money when you have freedom and a great community :)

There are fellow Steemians who disagree that this would be 'freedom' but I don't know - not sure. You never know when something like this will take you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43