You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Steemit count as commercial usage of content?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The farther you move away from strong copyright, the less quality you will see in art. That is simply a mathematical fact if averaged over a population. There are outliers of course, people who will spend their lives writing or painting no matter whether they are compensated or not. You'll always have someone like Milton writing Paradise Lost from his prison cell just because. That's not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about the overall consequences of failing to legally protect artistic intellectual property. The legal system/society that does not protect copyrights will suffer the loss of creative value in direct proportion because the best minds will tend to apply their talents where they can prosper.

Sort:  

I have this brilliant image, but oh dear, I just don't have the right words to go with it so I think I'll just copy someone's blog. No one will mind, right? LOL! That's how ludicrous this whole argument about taking photography and other art is!

Wow, I didn't know that John Milton had written Paradise Lost from prison! That's really interesting. I'll go check out his Wikipedia article.

I've seen some people who believe that copyright is slavery or something like that, as if, since they didn't "sign" the laws, conventions or even the social contract, they don't affect them, like they're free to do whatever they want. And their argument against copyright is that ownership is an illusion.

I think I debated him for two full days and we wrote together more than 6k words, but in the end, we stopped halfway.

The legal system/society that does not protect copyrights will suffer the loss of creative value in direct proportion because the best minds will tend to apply their talents where they can prosper.

100% agreed, and this is the problem that I see in communism too where, "ideally", everyone works where they will do best for society and they will get as much as they "need". This sounds good until you realise that people are self-interested and we want to work for our own goals and not for the goals established by some super-altruistic authority who believes themselves greater than my free will.

I will always defend the freedom of both the selfish and the generous, against the tyranny of those who think they know better than the rest of the world because of their philosophical views about sharing everything and expecting nothing but appreciation and the means for survival.

I would say to those people that slavery is when you don't get compensated for the work you've done.

Yes, John Milton was a crazy SOB. He was imprisoned for political beliefs when he was like 40 and instead of despairing he spent the rest of his life writing the greatest literature the world has ever seen.

Lol, I need to read his Paradise Lost. I haven't checked it. I was out, just coming back, I'll google him and his works and take a peek.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85