Thank goodness--I can buy some (cheaper) Steem again...

in #steemit7 years ago

This ain't a crash.

I saw a couple of posts this morning talking about the crashing of cryptocurrencies.

Um...what?

To paraphrase Warren Buffet, its interesting that when items get cheaper or go on sale we get excited, but when stocks (or assets) get cheaper we panic. Things are on sale today.

Due to financial reasons, I've had to powerdown a lot of over the last few months. Which actually shows the power of this platform, I can pay actual bills with this platform through simply blogging and commenting.

So I was actually some what disappointed when the price of Steem shot up so fast over the last few weeks, because more expensive Steem meant it was going to be harder to get back to where I was. But I knew eventually I could do it by just being consistent on this platform. But I was afraid I was going to see Steem shoot to $2 or higher before I build my Steem Power back up.

So the occasional sale on Steem is a good thing.

Just remember Steem is on sale today. Behave accordingly.

Sort:  

Nice post. i am following

nice post

I'm relatively new to crypto and this is my first deep dive in prices. I had to keep reminding myself to think long term and not obsess with checking prices every 5 mins but now it's happened (and might continue for a while) ... I think I've broken my crypto cherry and the thought of the wild roller coaster ride ahead of me..doesn't scare me as much anymore. BRING IT ON!

I started last June when Steem was 20 cents. I then watched it rocket to $4. And I then watched it slowly descend to SEVEN CENTS.

You get used to it.

Although I have my doubts about ever seeing 7 cent Steem again.

I think we should count ourselves lucky that we're way ahead of the curve as far as mass adoption of crypto is concerned. As long as we don't lose our nerve, we'll do well. If it was good enough for Mr Buffet...it's good enough for me :-)

Did you buy a shit ton of steem when it was 7 cents ;) ?

When it was 7 cents, it was a ghost town around here. At that point I wasn't sure if this thing was going to right itself.

Hmm, don't mind me asking, I see you upvote your own posts, is there any benefits to that?

That's fairly standard procedure. You certainly should be upvoting your blog posts and i even recommend comments. You are essentially paying yourself. Although it does affect your voting power if you upvote too much.

Thanks.. blog posts are auto self-upvoted anyways

Actually I learned NOT to do that. Wait a few minutes after you post to upvote your post, you get more Steem Power out of it that way.

I am not so into altcoins. Used to the stockmarket. If you want to have high leverage (higher as altcoins) with stocks, you should buy penny stocks. But anyway, I think I will try here too. Where is best website to exchange USD or EUR currency into bitcoin/altcoin?

Coinbase is probably the simpliest place to do it.

Or Kraken.com is another place to do it.

ALL my cryto began here in Steemit, I've sent no US dollars to Bitcoin. I've only gone Steem -> Bitcoin -> US dollars.

Posting on Steemit seems to be the least stressful way to earn crypto.

I have seen your wallet history. I see, you are receiving and sending out steem and steem power. Is that automatic (programmed into the steem) or are you lending it or exchanging....

It's not automatic. I have some loans through Bitconnect and I send Steem Power back in from those loans. Or I maybe sending out Steem to be able to upgrade my Genesis Mining Hashpower. Or I maybe sending out Steem to cash out into USD to pay some bills. My wallet is starting to look like a regular checkbook with deposits coming in and payments going out. Here's to hoping the deposits over take the payments going out. :)

Doing that, I think you will sleep better :D Just one thing... how do you know, who to exchange with? You google or is any forum about steemit exchanges?

I use bittrex.com for exchanging.

Claiming rewards now has to be done by claiming them in your wallet. It used to be automatic.

Yyyyyyep....just hodling.

You are absolutely right. The wise people are buying now! This is a Memorial Day special. 😉

where do you buy steem with your debit card?

Nice
Upvoted followed resteemed
I bought steem too..

Agree.

Also, that is why when steem was so low after last years pump, that I was more consistent.

I wanted cheep steem and can wait longer for it to go up.

Crypto fluctuation makes trading profitable, but risky.

Risk makes it more profitable faster.

So I am with you in getting in on the sales.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82