Talking about the experience of newbies - The resource credit dilemmasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey Steemians today I want to talk about the problems I see nor newbies, including me, having very limited RC (resource credits) joining the steemit community.

First I want to explain my user experience so far: I joined Steemit 3 months ago, overwhelmed with the possibilities Steemit has. After reading some articles how to start, I edited the introducemyself post made 1 or 2 comments on posts I liked and went on with my life. One week ago, I discovered Steemit again, setting myself the goal to actively participating in the community because I really like the idea. I started reading more posts from different Steemians to get to know the community better and learn from tutorials the etiquette of posting articles here.

Fully motivated, I started with the plan to post one post a day trying different things to see what works best for me. After a couple of days, I reached my posting limit (not enough RC) by following my agenda and commenting some peoples post. I see myself more as a consumer at them moment than an actual writer or blogger so I was wondered what the problem is giving the fact I do not really post that much. I did some research:

Definition of RC:

Not really aware of how the RC system works I googled a bit about the topic coming across both following articles: (Article 1; Article 2) You should read it in case you want further detailed information. The Ressource Credit system got introduced with the Hardfork HF20 a couple of months ago. The idea consists of 3 system goals: “1) more efficiently allocates blockchain resources; 2) more accurately measures the true cost of running the blockchain; and 3) enables Steem developers to create more predictable user experiences.” Ressource credits are higher if the user has has more SP (Steem power). Source

Now I want to Illustrate what it means for a Steem Newbie

The Steem newbie wants to enter the Steem world doing all the cool things the system has to offer. To interact with the world or to engage with other Steemians. Therefore, the basics which a newbiee can do is to create events (blog posts) appear at other events and talk to the host and other people form the community (comment on peoples posts) or just going to the parties paying an entrance fee (upvote). If the newbie didn’t like the party or he felt like someone copied the party from someone else he can post on social media that it was a bad event (flag someone). The best part about Steemit is that the newbie can also get a reward (Steem, SP, SBD) when he hosts good events or has interesting discussions at other events (contributes good content, being polite). Those features are just the basic and there are more options but for that example its more than enough. Steemit 1.png

The problem now is that since the hardfork every cool activity on the steemit world costs money (Resource credits). Based on the specific time and the density in the Steemit world, activities are sometimes a little bit cheaper or a bit more expensive. The problem now is that the amount you can spend in the Steemit world is directly linked to the persons SP (steam power). That means the more steam power a traveler in the Steemit world has the more resource credit are available for that person. Newbies enter the Steemit world with no steam power but get some for free, in the sense that there is a basic RC level for everyone, to make their first experiences. Consequently, if the newbie wants to attend at several events or host some to get an active member in the community he will be soon limited because he has not enough resource credits to do all the cool stuff.

There are now two options for the newbie. Either he exchanges real money in crypto to change it to steem power in order to get more RC or he tries to mobilize all his effort in a really good event (post) that some people are willing to pay him an entrance fee (likes). My thoughts on option one is, sure I could buy some steem power for real money to actively participate in this community, but when I decide in two weeks I do not like it that much the payout option to do so are not that attractive (3 months until you have your full amount of real money back). The other opportunity we newbies have is to limited post good content hoping that someone will recognize it, since we have not a high reputation or an audience (followers) which could leave to higher earnings. Both options are a bit frustrating for a newbie because a lot of people can not afford to invest in something which they are not sure of if they will like it and they do not have the possibility to post regular good content to interact with their readers hence to the limitation of RC. The other problem is that once a Steemian reached 0 % RC it only recharges very slow. In my particular case I commented a post yesterday morning and after the whole day of regeneration I could give another comment in case my blogpost would have a comment.
Steemit 2.png
People which are creating good content, are already an active member for a longer period of time do not have the same problem we newbies have. They can interact with the community a lot because they have enough SP and therefore enough RC to do whatever they want to do.

Above all, I do not judge “whales” or people with a high reputation: They also started once with no audience, worked hard to have what they have now. I only speak up for the people new on Steemit, having really limited resources to post quality content, build an audience and interact with other Steemians creating friendships and creativity groups. It got harder for them to become an active member of this platform which I want to criticize here.

I hope it opened some peoples eyes for newbies on Steem and probably look more after newbies who post good content. Maybe they will leave a comment, an upvote or even resteem it to use their ressources to help little fishes out so that they also can enjoy the cool features of Steemit to the fullest very soon.

If you liked my post, it would be very nice if you leave an upvote or resteem it. I will try to reply on your comments but since my RC is limited it maybe take some time ;)

Have a good day/night my friends!

Greetz M.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85