Rando Whale, good or bad? What do you think?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Community,

If you have not heard about @randowhale, it has become a hot topic in a very short period of time here on Steemit. Currently if you transfer 1 Steem/SBD to the @randowhale account with the URL of a Steemit post in the memo, the @randowhale account will upvote the post with voting power between 1-100%. Crazy right?

In some cases people have received $20 SBD for sending $1 SBD, others have claimed to receive as much as $100 SBD due to a heafty vote from @randowhale . I want to know what you all reading this think about @randowhale.

The topic has been discussed in SteemSpeak Discord, where it remains open for conversation.

In the last three hours the @randowhale account has received over $160 SBD from Steemit users for the chance of a 100% upvote.

5d32b23b4f.png

What are your thoughts?

Take care,
McKenzie Gary

dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

While I see it could add money to a "bad post", that could be handled with flags. I like it. I think it is fun. It is pay to play and random, so that helps reduce the scammy sense of just buying votes or rewards. I am sure others will take issue, but I am guessing he is going to have to raise the price. :)

I think it will most likely be abused and quickly shut down. 1sbd isnt even a gamble.
I think a fair value is 3-4 SBD, then its more likely you get your money back but you also can gain attention on your posting.
Great idea tho

Judging by the amount of attention the account has received in the last 3 hours, I can only imagine how popular it may become when more Steemians find out!

I may be not smart enough, but what it looks to me, is a complete nonsence.

A SCAM ?

Check out this:

How it can be useful for anybody, if it's vote even at full 100% power can bring only a miss arable $0.00167 ???

You answer me, please. Explain.

Then I may apologize for my stupidity

Im Trying It!

I screwed up and put the URL of my account , not a post, do you think @randowhale will still come through??

It's a bot so it won't but comment the post and tell the moderator what happened. I saw he manually updated one mistake earlier.

ok ill try . thanks guys, every steem counts hey!

He will likely contact you and get that fixed when he processes the orders.

I would suggest heading over there and asking on his original post.

Its a great idea! We could use more...
Spread the rewards around, that trending is getting rediculous

A lot of people are buying upvotes atm. And more so during these down times. It is not a totally useless strategy, but should it be done right now when the SP is so low and the reward pools are so drained?

There is a huge discussion on this thread. Come and give your point of view :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/randowhale-booster-worldclassplayer-users-just-halt-for-a-moment

Made the mistake of sending 2 SBD too close to payout time. @randowhale made the mistake of commenting that he upvoted my post when he didn't. https://steemit.com/fiction/@michaeladamparis/the-girl-and-the-pendulum-an-original-story-part-16

A lot of people are buying upvotes atm. And more so during these down times. It is not a totally useless strategy, but should it be done right now when the SP is so low and the reward pools are so drained?

There is a huge discussion on this thread. Come and give your point of view :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/randowhale-booster-worldclassplayer-users-just-halt-for-a-moment

Congratulations @mckenziegary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hard to say. I only used it to send some randowhale to someone else. I did not do it for myself. Something felt weird about that, but felt fine about trying to help someone else. So I respect randowhale's attempt to help someone else. We are all different. That is just my pov. Thanks for bringing up the discussion though.

I'm not sure about this yet. Like many things, it seems like it could potentially be a useful too for new users who are stuck, but at as soon as everyone tries to jump on board, it will probably be a problem....and it seems like everyone is already getting on board.

I think I like what I've seen from whaleshares so far because right now those are rewarded based on community participation.

But I do really appreciate the boost I got from randowhale. I hope someone figures out a way to keep it around and also from going out of control

A lot of people are buying upvotes atm. And more so during these down times. It is not a totally useless strategy, but should it be done right now when the SP is so low and the reward pools are so drained?

There is a huge discussion on this thread. Come and give your point of view :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/randowhale-booster-worldclassplayer-users-just-halt-for-a-moment

im not sure how much i want to talk about this.....i seem to lose friends whenever i open my mouth. But its your post and i want to show some love since we havent spoken for a while.

Thank you, I am flattered lol... I'm just a little minnow :)

I think it's a good Idea .

My post value went from $2 to $11. Wow, that is pretty insane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78