No One Should Be Doing 100% Power Ups Right Now If You Want the Most SP Possible

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Community,

I've been thinking about the current Steem and SBD price, as well as SP. While I have been thinking about it for a while now, I wanted to figure out if I am earning the maximum amount of Steem Power as possible. While I could be wrong, what I found was that if you want to earn as much Steem Power as possible you should not 100% power up your rewards earned from your post. This depends on the fact that we are receiving payouts in SBD and the price of SBD is higher than the price of Steem. I encourage those of you reading to respond, ask questions, share your thoughts with me or even poke holes in my thought process in the comments below.

update (06/06/2017) Now that 1 SBD is less than than 1 Steem, 100% power ups are the best way to gain SP.

Currently, the price of SBD is higher than Steem:SBDSP.png

Example


Since author rewards are currently paid out in SBD this means in order to earn the maximum amount of SP you would need to sell your SBD for Steem on the internal exchange (please see diagram below for an example):
SBD_SP.png

From the diagram above, you can see that if you wanted to earn the maximum amount of SP possible, you would need to do a 50/50 payout, then sell the 50% SBD payout (that is not automatically powered up) on Steemit's internal exchange for Steem and then power up the Steem. The example shows that if you had a post that earned $10 SBD, 5 would automatically go into SP, and if you sold the other 5 for Steem it would result in 7.085 SP with a net gain of 12.085 SP. If however, you were 100% powering up you would only receive a net gain of 10 SP.

Conclusion

I am not telling people to stop powering up 100%. My goal with this post is to mitigate possible confusion and tell those of you reading - As long as we are receiving author rewards in SBD, and the price of SBD is higher than the price of Steem, the way to maximize the amount of SP you earn from each post is not by powering up 100%, but instead by using the 50/50 option, then internally exchanging the SBD you receive for Steem and then powering up the Steem. I bring this up as I fear that there may be a portion of the Steemit Community that may be thinking 100% powering up their post will result in the highest amount of Steem Power, when currently that is not the case. I would also love to hear everyones thoughts, and if there are any questions for me I can easily be reached at the From The Ground Up Discord.

Update: I wanted to clarify that I am not suggesting using the "convert" feature which I have been told takes a 3 day average of SBD prices. And this may only be potentially beneficial while the SBD is significantly higher than the pegged price of $1.

Thank you and take care,
McKenzie Gary

dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Good information to maximize the value of your earned SBD. Thanks for sharing!

I still don't get it.. It's my understangint that a 50/50 gives you 50 Steem and 50 Steem Power
not 50 Steemdollars and 50 Steem Power

Currently I think author rewards are paid out in SBD. 50% of the SBD you earn goes into SP and 50% of what you earn goes into the "Steem Dollar" part of your wallet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77