I Won Steem Silver at a Steemit Meet-Up!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I was a winner of a competition that I entered in 2017!

So back in December 2017 I was a brand new Steemit user after joining in October of the same year.

I was working hard to grow my account and was receiving a lot of helpful advice and support from my fellow #teamaustralia buddies who had welcomed me into their little community.

The most helpful @ausbitbank was and continues to provide upvotes to the many Aussie Steemit users as well which went a hell of a long way to helping retain many Aussie Steemit users on the platform.

But then, as I was driving to Adelaide from Melbourne a day or so before Christmas day, I stumbled across a post by @mattclarke. This extremely passionate Steemit user was offering a 500SP delegation for a full 12 months to 20 Steemit users who were able to take a photograph of themselves in front of a Christmas tree in the Adelaide CBD.

Of course I had to give this a shot. At the time I only had around 200 or so SP. so a delegation of 500SP would be a massive boost to my account. Especially given that Steem was worth around $6 at the time.

So within moments of arriving in Adelaide I headed off to the CBD. I found the Christmas tree and made sure I met all requirements of the photo:

  • holding a present (I had just bought my wife her Christmas present)
  • the nearby clock tower visible in the background
  • and the Christmas tree visible behind me

Taking the photo was slightly challenging. There were 20 to 30 kids playing right in front of me so taking a photo while not looking like a sick pervert was slightly difficult. But I pulled it off.

After putting my post together to prove that I did the thing above, I had the 500SP delegation. And access to the mysterious voting power slider that I had been longing for since joining.

And with that delegation, my account growth really started to ramp up. I set a target of reaching 1500SP before the delegation period came to an end. And I achieved that target early this year. But I couldn’t have done that without the support of my fellow Aussie Steemit users and every other awesome person that I have met on this platform.

But then, as a final and most awesome surprise to bring @mattclarke’s competition to a close, Matt also let me know that I won a 2017 Steem Silver Round for being in the top 5 accounts who received a delegation from him. And gave me the coin at the BBQ meet up that was held today.

There were 20 people who received a delegation from Matt. So I was stoked to be a part of the top 5. Other users who won a silver round include @holoz0r, @o07, @thevillan and another person whose account I cannot remember.

Thanks for an awesome meet up today #mallsballers! And thanks for the Steem Silver @mattclarke!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

It was a really nice surprise, I remember Matt said he would give the top five a coin each but I completely forgot.
Was good to finally meet you today :D btw you spelt my name wrong ;)

Haha was great to meet you too mate. I’ll fix the spelling now. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy to help, mate. Glad you finally made it to an official meet. So different and refreshing seeing people irl.
Careful, it's addictive :)
@thegoliath was the other winner.

I’m really glad I finally made it to a meet as well. It was a great day to be outdoors having a chat with everyone.

I’ll make sure I’m back in SA in time for the March meet at the Jade.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just saw the mention mate, but Chris told mum about it so I knew. Thanks so much, will hoprfully get to this month's meetup, depensding on when mum and I move.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whenever you're free; be great to catch up in person. Just saw you on moonsteem.com
That's going places. Crazy addictive.

I have been quite busy with tafe, posting again and time with my partner.
Oh yeah, moonsteem is addictive amd great, they can become so huge!

Posted using Partiko Android

Checky bot to the rescue :)

Great to see you again, only 2 more meets until you can join @frogcake :)

I always get your freaking name wrong!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That competition was great, and I was really happy to be one of the 20 as it pretty much doubled my steem at the start, and I gained at least another 500 while the delegation was active. Certainly not as much as some, but it was more than slightly useful. I'm sure it also helped a bunch of others with all the votes I pushed out during the last 12 months!

It was an awesome comp. I’m pretty damn sure we all pumped out a tonne of extra votes as a result of the delegation. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice one!
It was good to see you in the flesh. How you make another meet soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was nice to meet you too. I'll be sure to make it to the Jade this month. :)

Yuhh it's really cool when you recieve material gifts for your STEEM life!!! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It sure is. It’s also nice to be collecting a few pieces of silver. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

oh, and for the other one that didn't link, @o07, because you can't start a steem name with a number :)

Oh lol... I’m so bad at this game.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I dunno about that. Takes some skill to get all 3 of the names you plan to link to wrong. I'm also pretty bad at it, so I'm always opening profiles to check :)

Haha I wrote the post on my phone so couldn’t be bothered opening multiple tabs to check things. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Totally understandable. I don't post from my phone, but can totally understand that it can be a frustrating platform when you ever want to do more than just browsing and commenting

Congrats, @mazzle! Good to see you still posting and interacting with the Steem Community!

Thanks mate. I hope you’re well. Write an update post! I haven’t heard news from you in ages.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, my friend! Will do; lots going on these days, but I'm trying to get back to Steemit more regularly. Cheers!

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.218 which ranks you at #2950 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 2957).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75