Steemit sucks? Remember 8 months ago?

in #steemit6 years ago

The time when Steemit was really unstable, uploading pictures didn't really work, you couldn't send your posts and pretty often you even lost the whole content you had created?

And upvoting! Damn...it took ages until that little circle finally stopped moving, most of the times nothing happened at all.

I was very new here, maybe 2 weeks when those major technical problems started and made using this platform more than just annoying. For no second I was thinking it could had been a mistake signing up and beginning to write and to chisel my content into the blockchain. I was just too excited about what could be possible and about the things I wanted to learn.

Well, the technical issues from that time fortunately were solved relatively fast and we were all promised a glorious future with SMTs all over the place.

If we are honest not much has been delivered since, the only think that seems to be done is maintaining some stable platform, which most of the time let you post and upvote without any real delay. We are still in testing mode, and that might last forever.

Long live the Beta!


The whole situation here at Steemit is not exactly motivating these days. Bots take over the reign and people beginn to consider whether it might not make sense to rent out their Steempower like many others here. Curation Trail and voting lists, or as the whole crap is called, which is dominating the game now. Nobody reads anymore, people just quickly vote their favorites and then leave for the rest of the day.

I still try to post daily and all my voting is done manually. Of course I have some users I read more and like to upvote since they have supported me a lot. But I also like to read posts from people I don't know and leave some of my vote there. I guess this sounds really old-fashioned huh?

Maybe this platform's peak has been long over and we are dying some long and slow death. And some circles are just sucking out every cent possible while the Steem price is moving more and more south. Until you can't even read it anymore.

Something has to change about our curation behavior if we want to stay attractive for new people to join. If things continue like now, this platform will end up like MySpace. Remember that? No? You see!!

I still enjoy reading here and interacting with you guys, as long as I can find some quality people. But how long will THEY stay?

Right now, when I feel so many things here on Steemit suck I just remember the time right after my joining and the very first meme I ever created. And I'm trying to feel grateful to be able to write, post, comment and upvote without any troubles. And for the things I could learn from many cool cats.

Cheers! I will be back tomorrow!


image taken from my very first meme post





interested in my other posts?

please come over, leave a comment
and follow.gif
@maxinpower

Love and Respect!

Sort:  

With the time passed, Steemit shouldn't be BETA anymore, they have had a long time to fix bugs etc..
That said, I joined probably close to the same time as you did, and everything was lagging..many hours you coukdn't even gain access to Steemit...pretty crappy, don't know why I hanged in there actually🙂 but I'm glad that I did!! Look how far we have come...Steemit isn't lagging as often anymore...lots of cool features have been added, especially if you use @steem-plus, the Chrome extension..🙂🙂
No matter what, I believe that the future looks very bright🙂🙂
Keep on the STEEM👍🙂

I really hope you are right. I’m still optimistic but I can’t deny all the flaws and the abuse going on. But also the huge potential we need to set free.

I’m not working with Chrome, I’m a Firefox guy. Any extension there?

All the best to you as well!
Best wishes from Japan!!

Don't know anything about Firefox extensions😟 Otherwise, I totally agree with you...The abuse could be the fall of Steemit!

nice information bitcoin i hope price agai up.

I wish you all the best

Vor 8 Monaten war ich noch nicht dabei, aber das hoert sich ja echt uebel an 😂 Da war viel Geduld gefragt, was ich leider nicht so besitze :D
Toller Beitrag, Recht hast du!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83