How much Steemit is too much? The end of the year should be the perfect time to reflect and set up the right goals!!

in #steemit6 years ago

2.png

Have you ever gotten to the point when your activities on Steemit were starting to have some effect on your “real life”? No I’m not talking about a bigger crypto or FIAT wallet, I wish I was there already.


What I actually mean is a changing mood or atmosphere at home because you are spending half a day in front of your computer trying to create some world-changing blog or finally finding the right words to leave that comment on that whale’s post which will bring that big upvote you were longing for all the time.

As we all know writing takes time, and no successful writer or blogger had it’s success fallen into their lap. Here on Steemit too, to get acknowledged requires the need to devote a lot of your free and spare time to writing, making links, building your community and to checking all the other great content which is out there.

If you have full time job and maybe a family to take care off too, your day will just not have enough hours anymore, therefore you are going to cut sleep and maybe unconsciously you are putting off the interaction with your loved ones.

Of course being here on the blockchain is super exiting and tempting, but how much are we willing to put in to make it?


Is it worth risking getting into some arguments with your partner? Showing him or her your back all the time while talking with isn’t their favorite view of you I guess.

And also missing part of their talk because we are so focused on our articles won’t help at all.

Especially if you have some little ones at home we need to be careful not to let slide our duties and responsibilities and to be there when you have to answer a smile or a request to play. We need to find the time to be joyfully hit with their favorite toys because that is how they will show their affection and we are supposes to show our love. Am I wrong here?

Do I really want to miss out on all of this?


Definitely not! But I have been coming closer to the tipping point and I surely want to avoid stepping into the red zone. I have seen the yellow card and noticed I need to find the right balance between being around in my new blockchain community and being together with my real-life team.

I don’t know whether you guys out there are having similar problems and trouble. Please share your experiences with us, how did Steemit affect your personal life, in good or in bad ways?

How do you avoid becoming to absorbed by your online activities and how do you manage to play the same role at home but at the same time you will be able to maintain a steady presence and occurrence here on Steemit?


I still need to work it out for myself, what is the best way to take care of both aspects of my life without ignoring what is really relevant, what should be the most vital part of my life!

I hope you all can find a healthy balance and a good way to harmonize all your activities.

Especially now when x-mas is knocking on the door and the year-end holidays are approaching, it might be a good time to pause to think. Let us all appreciate what we have already achieved and reached in life so far. Every new morning is the beginning of another new chapter and every evening we will reach another goal. Don't forget it is not about who is the fastest, someday we will all be gone. Keep this in mind when you start overheating again.

In life, only the way can be the goal!!

Therefore, thank you everybody for being on this great journey together. I'm thankful for all the advice and help I got and I hope I was able to give something back to you. I need to reflect and definitely a recharge. There is still some work to do next week and I also will not give up spending my time with all you awesome people. But I also know, the people right next to me must have the highest priority. I'm sure the same applies to you.

Peace - Merry Christmas bredrin and sistrin!!


amazing-736877_1280.jpg



interested in my other posts?

please come over, leave a comment
and follow.gif
@maxinpower

Love and Respect!!

Sort:  

yes frnd this is the right time to reflect the setup goals n this year is awesome for all of us wish 2018 is also nice for all of us.

Hi, I must commend your sincere hardwork in putting up this post.

Of course being here on the blockchain is super exiting and tempting, but how much are we willing to put in to make it?

This is one area that many would’ve loved to be positive about, but unfortunately to some people, it’s hard to raise enough to invest on crypto, so they rather take it the easy way, being hopeful.

Thanks for sharing @maxinpower

I remain a humble friend @maxdevalue

Thank you for commenting.
We all wish to be successful in the crypto business but not everyone will be.
Let us not forget it is a big gamble!!

Pause and think is good advice, just look at the crypto market I think that's what it's doing right now. Personnaly steemit is life changer for me and my family as we have very little income from the system, every $ we make with steemit is a hope for better financial days. we are so glad to have joined in, it's also great for us to be blogging and do the research about subjects we wouldn't have done otherwise, happy new year everyone!!

Thank you. Happy new year to you too!

Merry Xmas, Max.

I work ahead as much as I can. So when I have a day with a few hours free, I write as many posts as I can. That way when I have a few days will less time, I still have things to post.

It's not a perfect system, but it does help me limit my Steemit time to only the free time I actually have.

Thank you.
Same to you, Merry Christmas!!

Somehow Steemit has taken over a lot of my free time, so I need to pay more attention to the things close to me. Real free time is rare though.

For me i'm sure it will become a nice little hobby in a community of like minded people - not to mention a great place to learn about crypto. Merry Chrimbo!

Me too I learned a lot here and I got really hooked. Somehow more like a hobby already some kind of passion. I need to be careful

@maxinpower same feeling here... It's hard to balance but I hope we can find a healthy balance and a good way to harmonize all our activities.

How do you avoid becoming to absorbed by your online activities and how do you manage to play the same role at home but at the same time you will be able to maintain a steady presence and occurrence here on Steemit?

I am trying to work with a rule I used when playing poker online - I consider "Steemit" as hobby and therefore I see it as a reward when I get time to use it.

So I have set up a little rule for myself - I have to "earn" time I want to spend here. For me personal that means that for every hour I spend on my studies, work, I earn up to 1hr in "steemit"!

Works for me - not perfect, but well enough :)

Interested in others point of view, therefore helped visibility with an upvote+resteem!

Merry Xmas :)

Thank you for the comment and resteem!
Really appreciate this!!

I haven't tried some time management yet, I kinda spend most of my free time being here but as I wrote I want to dedicate more time to my little family now.
I will consider other duties first and when they are done I will be around.
Your rule is pretty good, especially since you need to focus on your work and studies first.
I'm sure we will hear from each other again often!

Frohe Weihnachten!!

Jealous of your time management skills

It is all about balance, especially when it comes to the question of whether you are sacrificing time spent in real life vs time spent in front of a screen.

Good article exploring the tension between making a decision between the two and how to regulate!

Merry Xmas

Thank you for the comment. Yes it is easy to forget real life when online life is exiting too.

That is very true, finding the balance takes a lot of discipline. I try to maintain a schedule and allocate a time slot in the evening specifically for steemit and try to stay with in it. Often thought I overstretch that limit, steemit is just too good. But I also "earned" some more Steemit time by almost completely abandoning facebook and twitter, I just use facebook chat to talk to people these days.

Thank you Niko for leaving a comment.
I also cut down a lot of my other online activities especially Facebook, it actually became boring after reading here.
It is nice to exchange real life value and not only see pictures about someone's lunch

Facebook is super boring now and we don't need more cat & food pictures - 100% correct.

So many amazing blogs here!

It very hard not to be on steemit. Community is so cool but I agree that se need to manage our time. I usually do it on my work break or while I'm riding with public transport

I know, it is really addictive. Public transport is the perfect time to be productive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31