[Concept] Native iOS Steemit app

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Good morning/afternoon everyone,

I'm a blockchain friendly software engineer with experiences in mobile and backend development, and as I believe Steem will have a major role in the future, I decided to start building a Steemit app for iOS.
I've been developing iOS apps for more than 4 years now, for many clients in France and the U.S.
This app will not be a wallet, it won't do money transferts, but will mainly be focused on reading and writing articles for steemit. Nowadays, the iPad has a huge market penetration and I believe many bloggers would love being able to write articles directly on their iPad without needing a computer.

I know there is already an App on the app store called eSteam, which is great, but I want to build a native app alternative, focused on reading text and writing articles.

The design

I started building a design for this app. Obviously, i'm not a designer, so if someone wants to help me build it, I'm all for it :)
But, here's a first preview of the "Feed" on the iPhone.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 17.58.59.png

The background

I will be developing this app in Swift, the latest language by Apple. It will be fully open source on GitHub and anyone will be able to contribute to it by sending PRs.
There will also be a backend server written in Golang. You can browse my previous projects in Golang here: https://github.com/PushpalDev/base-api
I have a nice list of features I can add to this app such as scheduled posts...

I won't be adding any ads on the app, I plan to monetise it with my regular updates on Steem, which should give me enough steemdollars to keep updating it :)

If you want this project to realise, feel free to upvote this post! :)

Sort:  

Awesome! Was just thinking that there should be a iOS app for steemit :) Personally I would drop the "card" style, looks good on a mockup but takes up valuable screen estate better used for content.

I'm new to steemit so this might be a stupid question but how do you solve voting/replying without implementing some sort of wallet functionality?

Thank you for your interest! I will try to rework the design later tomorrow, thank you for the suggestions!
I want people to be able to upvote obviously, but this won't really be focused on money, but rather on content creation.

The UI looks great! It is true that the UX of steemit on mobile browsers is not so convenient. I think many of us are looking forward to use your app! 👍🏼

Thank you :)
For now it is just a proof of concept, I car work more on the design in the future I really hope this project will attract some people

I think this is a great idea, though I use Android. I can see this as very useful to the authors and bloggers of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56652.41
ETH 2407.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33